Photo of student award winners.

UM Library Undergraduate Research Award winners Zachary Arrington, Anne Rosett, Margaret Johnson, Kiri Alvarado, and Michael Barton with Dean James Hilton and alumni Joshua Bilmes at the 2017 awards ceremony.

U-M Library Annual Undergraduate Research Award

Each year, the U-M Library conducts a research award competition to recognize and celebrate the extraordinary academic achievements of our undergraduate students. The award is given to students who demonstrate excellence in library research conducted in support of an undergraduate student project.

Undergraduate students from any campus are eligible to participate. Projects can be in any format or medium such as a website, a documentary or an art installation. Individuals and groups from any discipline may apply.

Four awards are given separately in two categories: the Maize Award for single-term projects and the Blue Award for multi-term projects. Awards are evaluated on the strength of a letter of support from an instructor and the applicants' research, personal essays and bibliographies. The "Global Award" in each the Maize and Blue categories will be awarded to a project with a global component.

In addition to the Maize and Blue category awards, two additional awards will be provided for the 2017-18 academic year. The Outstanding First-Year Research Project Award and the Innovation in Research and Creativity AwardFor more information, see the FAQ page.



The 2017-18 awards are sponsored by the JABberwocky Literary Agency. 

  • First Place: $1,000
  • ​Second Place: $500
  • Third Place: $250
  • Global Award: $500

  • Outstanding First-Year Research Project: $500

  • Innovation in Research and Creativity: $1,000

Important Dates

  • Application deadline: April 26, 2018

  • Faculty letter deadline: May 4, 2018

  • Awardees notified by email: June 4, 2018

  • Award ceremony and reception: TBD

Questions? Email:

Page maintained by Alex Deeke
Last modified: 12/13/2017