Current Page Path
Browse results for: Theatre and Drama in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 6 of 6
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Contains more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts in the area of the performing arts.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Indexes articles in 400 scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, TV, drama, and theater.
- Theatre in Video
Provides streaming video access to original productions of plays, along with film documentaries on the subject of theater.
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
- North American Theatre Online
A major initiative to provide detailed reference information for theatrical figures, plays, theatres, and more.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
1 - 36 of 36
- Alexander Street Press
Combined search platform for ASP audio and video collections
- Alexander Street Video
Thousands of streaming videos including documentaries, news and historical events, opera, dance and drama performances.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Index of 1,600 arts and humanities journals that allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work.
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
Over 240 dramatic works in streaming audio.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays
Streaming video of all the plays of Shakespeare. Originally broadcast on BBC2 between 1978 and 1985.
- Black Drama
Contains full text of 1,200 English plays ca. 1850-present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean.
- Black Drama: Second Edition
Contains 1,460 full text English plays ca. 1850-present by more than 250 playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean.
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Digital archive of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era.
- Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Contains entries on theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, directors, technical topics, and more.
- Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (Chadwyck-Healey version)
Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66.
- Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (DLPS version)
Contains eleven major editions, from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6.
- English Drama (Chadwyck-Healey version)
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth.
- English Prose Drama (DLPS version)
English Prose Drama contains more than 1,600 plays written by more than 350 different authors.
- English Verse Drama (DLPS version)
English Verse Drama contains more than 2,000 works by around 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Complete runs of digitized major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and others.
- Gale Literary Databases
Simultaneous search of three resources: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Humanities Abstracts (with Full Text)
Covers 700 periodicals in art, film, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, literature, etc.
- The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
A weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio (and later, television) programmes in print.
- Music and Performing Arts (Alexander Street Press)
A cross-searchable portal of audio and video products from Alexander Street Press.
An index to musical theater songs allowing searching by voice type, range, character ago, tempo, and other parameters.
High-quality films of full-length performances by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, and music.
- Oxford Companion to American Theatre
An up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Includes people, plays, dramatic movements, and more.
- Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
An authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries.
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes over 7,000 arts, humanities & social science journals, from their first issues through 2000.
- Play Index
Covers more than 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present, written in or translated into English.
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Custom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 27 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers.
- Riverside Shakespeare
The full text of the complete works of Shakespeare as presented in the standard scholarly edition edited by G. Blakemore Evans.
- Shakespeare First Folio and Several Quartos
Shakespeare's first folio contains thirty-six plays and was published originally in 1623.
- Shakespeare in Performance
Collection of rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
- Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro (TESO) (DLPS version)
A full text database of over 800 plays comprising 68 volumes written by the sixteen most prolific dramatists of the Spanish Golden Age.
- Theatre in Video: Volume II
Classic and contemporary plays and documentaries in streaming video
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2008
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 through 2008.
- W. B. Yeats Collection (DLPS version)
Contains the major works of William Butler Yeats (1865-1939) in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism, and fiction.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and 2013.