Current Page Path
Browse results for: News & Current Events in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 9 of 9
- Access World News [NewsBank]
Full text of 600+ U.S. newspapers and 260+ English-language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
- Associated Press Images Collection
Online access to over 12 million photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire, plus audio clips & graphics.
- Gale NewsVault
Provides cross-searching of 17 different historical newspaper and periodical archive collections.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
Full text database combining articles from 1,000+ newspapers & news wires worldwide, plus some news blogs & TV shows.
- Nexis Uni
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
- PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay)
Access to issues from the last 90 days (or more) of over 7,000 newspapers & magazines from over 100 countries worldwide.
- ProQuest News & Current Events
Combined access to all 50 ProQuest news databases, both historical and current, including ProQuest Global Newsstream
- World News Connection
CIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. ...
- World News Digest
Summarizes key news information every week from 100+ major newspapers, news magazines, government & online sources.
1 - 137 of 137
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The largest single collection of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century English news media available from the British Library
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, ...
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014
Episodes of the long-running TV journalism show
- ABI/INFORM Dateline
Full text articles from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, etc.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes 3,000+ business-related periodicals (with full text for 2,000+), including Wall Street Journal.
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Full text access to more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus.
- Academic Video Online
Offers nearly 70,000 streamed videos in a wide range of subject areas. Includes documentaries, feature films, news programs, and more.
- Access World News: Michigan [NewsBank]
Full text of 60+ Michigan newspapers including Detroit News (1873-1988 and 1999- ) and Ann Arbor News (2003-2009).
- Accessible Archives
Provides full text, searchable access to important American magazines and newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Access to images from over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian papers and magazines from 1911-1955. Produced by the Duke ...
- Adam Matthew Primary Sources
Complete Adam Matthew digital products ranging from African American Communities to World's Fairs
- African American Newspapers
Includes searchable full text of a number of African-American newspapers published from 1827 to 1902 from Accessible Archives
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Over 170 periodicals from 26 states by and about African Americans.
News aggregator and 500+ other information sources including government and non-governmental organizations
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text of over 200 alternative and independent-press newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, ...
- America's Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers provides searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. The collection ...
- America's News Magazines [NewsBank]
Full text of 3 popular U.S. news magazines: Newsweek (1991- ), Foreign Affairs (1994- ), and Slate (1996- ).
- American Periodicals (APS)
Searchable, full text of selected American periodicals of all kinds published between 1740 and 1900.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005).
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1995
Searchable access to the backfile of the Los Angeles Times in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- Archive of Americana
Combined access to six databases containing full text of historical American books, newspapers & periodicals.
- Asahi Shinbun (online version)
Online full-text database of Asahi Shinbun, one of Japan's mainstream newspapers. Contains 7 million articles published since 1945. ...
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003).
- Baltimore African-American, 1893-1988
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile from 1893-1988. Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
- Baltimore Sun, 1837-1992
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of the Baltimore Sun (1837-1992).
- BBC Monitoring
News alerts, reports, reference and analysis on developments around the world
- Black Historical Newspapers
Custom ProQuest cross-search of 9 major African American community newspapers published 1893 - 2005.
- British Library Newspapers
Provides full-text, searchable access to more than 160 newspapers reflecting 18th- through 20th-century British culture and politics.
- British Newspapers 1600-1950
Cross searches the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection and the British Library Newspapers Series (1732-1950)
- Catholic Periodical & Literature (EBSCO)
The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) Online is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library ...
- Chicago Defender, 1909-1975
Searchable access to the backfile of The Chicago Defender, a leading African-American newspaper, available in full page images ...
- Chicago Tribune Index
Searchable index of most articles published in the Chicago Tribune from 1852-present. Provides citation and "preview" abstract only at ...
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-1990
Searchable access to the backfile of the Chicago Tribune, in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- China Core Newspaper Databases
Provides full text access to at least 700 core Chinese newspapers that cover many locations and disciplines in contemporary China.
- Chronicle of Higher Education Digital Edition
Online edition of the weekly newspaper, plus data from the Almanac of Higher Education, blogs, job postings, etc.
- Civil War, Parts I-IV
Collection of articles, memoirs and correspondence describing events related directly or indirectly to the U.S. Civil War.
Covers the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society.
- Computerized Index to Philippine Periodicals
Indexes articles in approximately 100 Philippine journals, magazines and newspapers.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Collection of Confederate Newspapers published from 1861 to 1865.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, ...
- Current Affairs in Video
Database of films and documentaries on current issues in the news
- D&B Hoovers
Information on nearly 24 million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the US and Canada, and worldwide
- Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004)
Complete Daily Mail archive from 1896-2004.
- Detroit Free Press Index
Searchable index of most issues of the Detroit Free Press from June 5, 1837 to the present.
- Detroit News Archive (Access World News)
A complete archive of all issues of the Detroit News, from the first issue in 1873 to the present.
- Digital Collections
Access to over 290 text, image, and finding aid collections that provide access to over a million digital objects.
- Digital Scholar Lab
Facilitates the application of text mining and visualization tools on data sets created from the library's Gale Primary Sources
- Early American Newspapers (America's Historical Newspapers)
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, ...
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2014
A complete searchable archive of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to four years ago, with full-color images.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports 1952 – 1995
Country level data from the EIU from 1952-1995 for nearly 200 countries
- Egyptian Press Archive of CEDEJ
Documentary collection of more than 800,000 articles from the principal elements of the Egyptian press
- EMIS Emerging Markets
Provides full text news, reports, and financial information for emerging markets in Asia, Europe, and Latin America.
Covers business and political issues surrounding the unconventional energy industry in the U.S. and worldwide.
- Environment & Energy Daily
Tracks legislative action on environmental, energy and natural resources issues.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles ...
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.
- Foreign Broadcast Info Index
Indexes CIA translations of newswire and news broadcast services from around the world. The publications themselves are available on ...
- Gale Business Insights: Global
Compiled information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products.
- Gannett Newsstand
Full-text access to 85 Gannett newspapers, including the Detroit Free Press. A supplement to ProQuest Newsstand.
A full text database of 140 international publications devoted to women's and gender issues.
- General OneFile
Provides indexing for 8,000+ scholarly & general interest journals & newspapers, with full text for 4,200+ of them.
- General Reference Center Gold
Provides indexing for 1,100 general interest magazines, newspapers, business and industry journals, and reference books, with full text ...
- The Global Times 环球时报
Database of a daily newspaper from China focusing on international relations and foreign affairs
- Google News Archive
Searches content from a number of news sources, from Google's News Archive Partner Program and other online archives.
Reports on U.S. environmental, energy & natural resources issues as they are addressed by government & media.
- Guardian and Observer, 1791-2003
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of The Guardian, 1821-2003 (published in Manchester, England) and The Observer, ...
Daily health care news and analysis; includes current research studies and briefs focused on the business and economics of health care.
- Hemeroteca Digital
Consists of 143 titles which comprise 500.000 pages representing a wide variety of Spanish press of all types: political, satirical, ...
- Hispanic American Newspapers
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. ...
- Illustrated London News
A full facsimile run of the illustrated newspaper, 1842-2003. Includes over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces.
- Informe Académico
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.
- Issues & Controversies
Full text of balanced, accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news supplemented with chronologies, illustrations, ...
- Izvestiia Digital Archive
Digital version of the Russian newspaper founded in March 1917.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
Digital archive of articles published by interned Japanese-Americans between 1942 and 1945.
- Land Letter: The Natural Resources Weekly Report
Weekly in-depth newsletter focusing on the latest developments in regulation, litigation, legislation, and other action surrounding ...
- Lansing State Journal (2002 - present)
Full-text searchable access to the Lansing State Journal from November 24, 2002 to the present.
- Left Index
Covers 120+ journals and blogs with a leftist viewpoint concerning a variety of political and social issues.
- LexisNexis Text Assembler
The LexisNexis Text Assembler is currently unavailable. Access should be restored later in the Fall 2019 semester
- LGBT Life with Full Text
Indexes the popular and scholarly literature addressing issues related to the Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender community
- Liberator, Parts I-II, 1831-1840
Full text edition of William Lloyd Garrison's newspaper, published 1831-1865
- Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
Digital edition of Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950
- Life Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now ...
- The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
A weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio (and later, television) programmes in print.
- The March of Time
Docudramas and newsreel-like films of news events from the mid-20th century.
- Meet the Press
Meet the Press was a series of interviews, panels and debates, televised 1947-2012. Available in streaming format
- Michigan Historical Newspapers
Digital newspapers published in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Flint, Grand Rapids, Jackson, Ontonagon and St. James, 1845-1995
- Nation Digital Archive
Online access to back issues of one of the longest-published American magazines of opinion and criticism, covering politics, culture, ...
- National Geographic Virtual Library
Digital edition of National Geographic Magazine, 1888-current plus online videos, books and images.
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993).
- New York Times, 1851-2016
Searchable access to the backfile of the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive
Archival collection of 15 magazines (including Newsweek) spanning areas including politics and current events.
Indexing for over 90 U.S. newspapers. Provides citation and first paragraph only: use paper copies or microfilms in a library to see ...
- Newspaper Archive: Academic Library Edition
A database of mainly English-language historical newspapers with scattered coverage from 1607-present.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Major world news; includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, news magazines and tv/radio transcripts.
- Norfolk Journal and Guide, 1916-2003
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003).
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers current social and cultural issues, and includes pro and con "viewpoint" essays, topic overviews, primary sources, and news articles
Provides succinct analytical articles covering world & regional economic and political developments and their impact on business.
- Pennsylvania Gazette
Full text edition of the Pennsylvania Gazette, published 1728-1800.
- People’s Daily (1946-Present)
An influential and authoritative newspaper in China
- Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-2001
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001).
- Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of the Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001).
- Picture Post Historical Archive
The complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full ...
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and ...
- Politico Pro
Current coverage of US politics
- Pravda Digital Archive
Searchable access to the backfile of Pravda, available in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- ProQuest Congressional
Includes bills, laws, Congressional publications, hearings, reports, Congressional Record, CRS Reports and executive agency documents
- ProQuest Digital Microfilm
Scanned images of print editions of six U.S. newspapers from 2008 or 2009 up to a few months ago.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Custom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 30 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers.
- ProQuest Newsstand
Full text of 1,300+ English-language newspapers from across the U.S. and around the world.
- ProQuest Research Library
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600.
- Public Ledger (Philadelphia), 1836-1876
Searchable online edition of the Public Ledger from Philadelphia (1836-1876)
- Readers Guide Abstracts (with Full Text)
Indexes 450+ popular periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, with full text from 270 of them.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexes older articles from 240 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, 1890-1982.
- Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces.
- Regional Business News (EBSCO)
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain ...
- South China Morning Post (1903-1996)
Complete, searchable backfile of the major English-language newspaper of Hong Kong (excluding the last 10 years).
Current bill text and bill status information for U.S. States.
- The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016
Digital edition of the Sunday Times, London, England, from 1822-2016.
Social Media Analytics. Click on the link above to fill out a brief form to schedule access to this resource.
- Time Magazine Archive (EBSCO)
Searchable, full-text access along with page images from Time Magazine, 1923-2000.
- Times Digital Archive
Online backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785 to 2006.
- Times of India, 1861-2006
Searchable access to the backfile of The Times of India, in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- UDNdata Newspaper Database 聯合知識庫全文報紙資料庫
- Universal Database of Russian Newspapers
Provides full text of over 40 of the major newspapers or serials published in Russia, the Soviet Union, or its successor states.
- Vanderbilt University Television News Archive
The collection includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, ...
- Virginia Gazette
Full text edition of the Virginia Gazette, published 1736-1780.
- Wall Street Journal Complete (1889-present)
Includes all WSJ articles from regular & international editions (Asia, Europe, Americas), WSJ Pro, web-only articles, etc.
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2002
Searchable access to the backfile of the Wall Street Journal, in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- Washington Post Complete (1877-present)
Includes all Washington Post articles from the print and online editions, including web-only articles, blogs, videos, etc.
- Washington Post, 1877-2003
Searchable access to the complete backfile of the Washington Post, available in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- WiseSearch 慧科搜索
- World Newspaper Archive
Provides full text searchable access to historical newspapers published in Africa, East Europe, Latin American and South Asia.
- World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966
Newsreels of significant historical events in streaming format.
- World Politics Review
Current news coverage of international affairs
- World Press Encyclopedia
Survey of press and electronic media in 200 countries. Includes number and type of media, press laws, censorship, journalism training.