Keep reading and researching
Current Page Path
Browse results for: Music in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 11 of 11
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Indexes international scholarly literature in all genres of music, as well as music education, theory, therapy, and ethnomusicology.
- Music Periodicals Database
Indexes over 425 international scholarly and popular music periodicals with full text from 140 titles.
- Oxford Music Online
The authoritative standard for English-language music dictionaries, providing biographies, definitions of terms, works lists, etc.
- Music and Performing Arts (Alexander Street Press)
A cross-searchable portal of audio and video products from Alexander Street Press.
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library offers streaming audio of more than a million tracks of classical music covering all time periods.
- Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library offers a multi-label collection of music recordings, featuring performances from independent and major labels.
- Met Opera on Demand
Provides streaming access to more than 500 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Streaming audio of 50,000 tracks of ethnic music from around the world, including the catalog of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
- IPA Source
Contains more than 11,000 International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Rock's Backpages
A full-text archive of music journalism covering all types of popular music from the 1960's to the present day.
An index to musical theater songs allowing searching by voice type, range, character ago, tempo, and other parameters.
1 - 60 of 60
- Academic Video Online
Offers nearly 70,000 streamed videos in a wide range of subject areas. Includes documentaries, feature films, news programs, and more.
- AES E-Library
Search and download PDFs of articles and papers from the Audio Engineering Society from 1953 to the present.
- Alexander Street Press
Combined search platform for ASP audio and video collections
- Alexander Street Video
Thousands of streaming videos including documentaries, news and historical events, opera, dance and drama performances.
- American Music
Provides streaming access to more than 600,000 audio tracks of American music.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Provides more than 15,000 biographies of musicians spanning the medieval ages to the present.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians since 1990
An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present.
- Bloomsbury Collections
Selected online books in philosophy, classical studies, and other fields from Bloomsbury Publishing
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Digital archive of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era.
- Cambridge Companions Online
Contains more than 700 full-text Cambridge Companion titles, in subjects spanning the humanities and social sciences.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Contains more than 350 full-text volumes, in 15 subject areas across the humanities and social sciences.
- Classical Music in Video
A collection of 1100 videos of classical music performances and masterclasses.
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
Derived from the classic Oxford Dictionary of Music, this concise edition has over 14,000 entries on musical terms from allegro to zingaro.
- Contemporary World Music
Provides streaming audio of contemporary music from around the world.
- Dictionary of Opera Characters
Contains over 2,500 entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.
- Digital Concert Hall
Provides streaming access to hundreds of concerts from the Berlin Philharmonic.
Provides CD-quality streaming access to more than 4000 albums from 42 independent record labels.
- Encyclopedia of African American Music
Showcases all facets of African American music including folk, religious, concert and popular styles.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music
30,000 entries cover all genres and periods from 1900 to present, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Complete runs of digitized major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and others.
- Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Audio recordings and field materials from ethnomusicologists documenting musical traditions from around the world.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- Grove Book of Opera Singers
Offers an alphabetically arranged collection of authoritative biographies of opera singers.
- Grove Book of Operas
The Grove Book of Operas is a collection of synopses and descriptions of over 250 operas.
- The Grove Dictionary of American Music
Contains more than 9000 entries providing extensive coverage of music and music-making in the United States.
- The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Provides extensive coverage on worldwide musical instruments, instrument makers, and the cultural roles of instruments.
- International Computer Music Conference Proceedings
The Proceedings is the collection of peer-reviewed papers and studio reports presented at each ICMC.
- Jazz Music Library
Streaming audio of over 130,000 recordings of every jazz genre and time period, featuring jazz artists from around the world.
- JSTOR (temporarily expanded COVID-19 access through August 31, 2020)
Full-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 32,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
A weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio (and later, television) programmes in print.
- MGG Online (Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart)
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) Online is a general encyclopedia of music.
- Monterey Jazz Festival Collection
A database documenting nearly 9,000 jazz pieces, interviews, and other events representing over 1,000 hours of audio and video.
- Music and Politics
Music and Politics is an open-access peer-reviewed electronic journal first published in 2007
- Music Index (EBSCO)
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and other literature, featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present.
- Music Industry Data
A database of historical and current chart data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, and other reporting agencies from over 30 countries.
- Music Magazine Archive
A full-text, searchable database of selected rock and folk music magazines.
- Music Online: Listening
A cross-searchable portal of music audio streaming products from Alexander Street Press.
- Music Time in Africa Archive
This archive is a compilation of radio programs digitized as part of the grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities
Provides performing arts news and databases of contact information.
- Naxos Video Library
A streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.
High-quality films of full-length performances by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, and music.
- Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains 300 opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
- Orchestral Music Online
Orchestral Music Online is an online version of David Daniels's classic reference work providing basic information on thousands of works.
- Organs and Churches of Hungary, Austria and the Czech Republic
This collection contains photographs of historical pipe organs in Hungary, Austria and the Czech Republic.
- Organs and Churches of Hungary, Austria and the Czech Republic
This collection contains photographs of historical pipe organs in Hungary, Austria and the Czech Republic. Most of these images have appear…
- Oxford Companion to Music
Includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of forms and styles.
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
Provides over 12,000 entries and covers musical subjects of all kinds in an authoritative and accessible way.
- Oxford Handbooks Online
Database of over 30,000 articles from more than 900 handbooks published by OUP across 16 subject areas.
- Oxford History of Western Music
Electronic edition of Richard Taruskin's 5-volume account of the evolution of Western classical music.
- Percussion Orchestrations
Percussion Orchestrations is a database of timpani and percussion requirements for orchestral, operatic and contemporary repertoire.
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes over 7,000 arts, humanities & social science journals, from their first issues through 2000.
- Popular Music Library
Popular Music Library offers streaming access to a wide range of popular music from around the world.
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
- Renaissance Liturgical Imprints: A Census (RELICS)
A database of citations to over 13,000 liturgical titles printed in Europe between 1450 and 1600.
- RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text
International annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture, found in music periodicals published from 1800-1950.
- RISM International Inventory of Musical Sources
The most comprehensive index to music manuscripts produced after 1600; also indexes pre-1800 musical editions.
- Thomas A. Edison Papers
Digitized collection of lab notebooks, diaries, business records, and correspondence documenting the life and work of Thomas Alva Edison.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2008
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 through 2008.
- Weave: Journal of Library User Experience
Volume 1- (2014-). Open to the world.|Weave is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal for Library User Experience professionals published by…
Combined catalog of 360+ million items of all kinds (books, periodicals, videos, maps, etc.) in 25,000+ libraries worldwide.