Current Page Path
Browse results for: Government, Politics & Law in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 11 of 11
The Government Printing Office (GPO) official source for information from all three branches of U.S. government
- HathiTrust Digital Library
Searchable access to 13.5 million+ volumes, with full text access to 5.1 million+ volumes.
- CQ Political Reference Suite
Includes CQ Almanac, Guide to Political Campaigns in America, Historic Documents Series and many others.
- CQ Magazine
Analytical articles on Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995.
- ProQuest Congressional
Includes bills, laws, Congressional publications, hearings, reports, Congressional Record, CRS Reports and executive agency documents
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from international, US and state governments and businesses
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Best bet for statistics on the population, economy and life in the US from 1878 to present
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)
Searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
Indexes major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers covering U.S. federal and ...
1 - 143 of 143
- Access UN
This databases contains complete bibliographic citations of UN documents and publications. Indexes United Nations documents since 1946.
- Africa Development Indicators
Africa Development Indicators contains over 1,600 indicators and time series from 1961 to the present for 53 countries.
- Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left publications, which cover cultural, economic, political and social change.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, ...
- America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations - Vietnam Veterans Against the War
Digital archive of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War.
- American FactFinder
Population, housing and economic census data from ongoing surveys including American Community Survey
- American Law Yearbook
This annual supplement to West's Encyclopedia of American Law updates and expands the content with dozens of new topics. The 2005 ...
- Archive Finder
A database listing over 200,000 manuscript and other special collections at thousands of repositories in the U.S., U.K. and Ireland.
- AREAER Online
AREAER Online provides data on exchange arrangements and exchange restrictions for IMF countries back to 1999
- Armed Conflict Database
Analyzes armed conflicts around the world since 1997, including non-state armed groups and the death toll. Major features: statistics, ...
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Digital archive of records documenting U.S. and British relations with a variety of Asian Nations.
- British Politics and Society
Digital archive that documents the development of urban centers and the restructuring of society during the Industrial Revolution.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19 is a bibliography for 19th-century research
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog)
Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other ...
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog) [FirstSearch]
Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications published 1976-2012.
- Center for Geographic Information
Michigan demographic, economic, educational, geographic, and recreation data. Formerly called the Michigan Information Center, CGI now ...
- China Geo-Explorer II
China Geo-Explorer II provides China's demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in web-based delivery system.
- China Government Gazettes Full-text Database 中国政报公报期刊文献总库
Full text of conference proceedings, think tank articles, some journals, and working papers on international affairs.
- Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
Digitized records of organizations including the NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, & CORE, along with FBI surveillance files on MLK, Jr. & from COINTELPRO.
Covers the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society.
- Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation
Digital archive of oral histories documenting the Cold War.
- UN Commodity Trade Statistics
International trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country, for over 130 countries. Commodities are classified according ...
- Competition Policy International
CPI provides access to CPI Journal & Antitrust Chronicle and information focused on global antitrust and competition policy.
Offers full-text bills and bill tracking back to the 93rd Congress (1973) and also Congressional committee information.
- CQ Almanac
CQ Almanac contains unbiased, objective and comprehensive summaries of all Capitol Hill activity from the previous congress.
- CQ Congress Collection
Provides analysis of members of Congress and data on how they vote on legislation
- CQ Press Electronic Library
Collection of directories, encyclopedias and guides on US politics and policy from CQ Press.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, ...
- CQ Roll Call
CQ Roll Call covers the activities of Congress including legislative tracking, transcripts and testimony
- CQ Supreme Court Collection
Provides historical analysis and commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court ...
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection
- Current Index to Statistics
A bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. Covers all articles from 106 "core journals," selected ...
- UN Data
You can find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and ...
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations
- Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers
Contains the most significant historical statistics of the United States from 1789 to 2003, with projections to 2050.
- Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)
Full text of Presidential, Executive Branch, and Congressional documents since World War II declassified under the Freedom of ...
- DeGruyter Journals
Includes journals previously published by Berkeley Electronic Press
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Contains themed collections of over 80,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions.
Index and abstract of journals and books, dissertations, and working papers for the field of economics.
- Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Comprehensively addresses conflict on all levels, from interpersonal to international.
Covers business and political issues surrounding the unconventional energy industry in the U.S. and worldwide.
- Environment & Energy Daily
Tracks legislative action on environmental, energy and natural resources issues.
- Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Summaries and key issues from government-released environmental impact statements, including project descriptions, positive impacts, ...
- ERIC [ProQuest]
U.S. Dept. of Education database providing extensive access to educational-related literature.
- European Patent Office (EPO)
EPO contains all the patent documentation available to EPO examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member ...
- Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
Digital archive documenting the missionary work of the Presbyterian Church in Syria and Lebanon.
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.
- Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
FRASER is both a digital library of economic history and a repository of the institutional history of the Federal Reserve System.
- Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Digital collection of documents related to the FBI's investigation of those deemed politically suspect.
- Foreign Broadcast Info Index
Indexes CIA translations of newswire and news broadcast services from around the world. The publications themselves are available on ...
- FRED Economic Data
Provides US and International time series economic data from 79 sources.
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, ...
- GEONet Names Server
The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (formerly Defense Mapping Agency) database ...
- Global Development Finance
GDF provides statistical data on the external debt of 128 developing countries. Covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic ...
- Global Economic Monitor
Global Economic Monitor provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency ...
- Google Patents
With Google Patent Search, you can now search the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you. Patent ...
Reports on U.S. environmental, energy & natural resources issues as they are addressed by government & media.
- Guide to U.S. Environmental Policy
Investigates the political, social and economic forces driving policy decisions about the protection and future of the environment.
- Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy
Traces the growth and development of diplomatic policies and traditions, and the shifts in public opinion that shape diplomatic trends.
Allows consumers to locate and compare private health insurance plans, hospitals and nursing homes, and more.
A retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information ...
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP ...
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
Archive of computerized, numeric social science data, including demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, and more.
Provides annual and infra-annual labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories.
- IMF eLibrary Data
Contains IFS, BOPS, DOTS, and GFS data.
- In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994
Digital archive of primary sources documenting the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Deficiency Syndrome (NCAIDS).
- Index to Current Urban Documents
Guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research ...
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Indexes 450 legal periodicals published outside the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain since 1985. Covers international law (public and ...
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (with Full Text)
Covers 1,025+ legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, statutes, bar association publications, etc from the US and British Commonwealth.
This database provides key statistics of India, including census, election, foreign trade, health data and more.
- Information Please Almanac
Web site for the popular compilations of facts and statistics covering politics, current events, geography, history, business, sports, ...
- International Country Risk Guide
Four datasets comparing political, financial and economic risk for countries worldwide for the period 1984-2009.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences
- International Historical Statistics
Historical statistics (1750-2010) on the economics, populations, labor force, education, and transportation of nations.
- International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO)
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), provides abstracts of about 8,000 political science articles per year, published in ...
- International Studies Encyclopedia
A comprehensive reference work for the field of international studies and international relations.
The most comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion polls archived from surveys going back to 1935
- Jane's All the World's Aircraft
Full text of the current edition of Jane's All the World's Aircraft. To access, look under "My Subscriptions" header and click on "by A-Z."
- Legal Information Reference Center
Legal self-help and reference books
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign ...
- LexisNexis State Capital
Bill status and text for all 50 states since 1990; full text of current state legal and regulatory codes; state political newsletters; ...
- Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
Digital archive of FBI documents detailing surveillance of the ALSC and A-ARPR.
- LLMC Digital (Law Library Microform Consortium)
Digital versions of the LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium) collections.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises
A searchable, full-text database of 22,000 English language legal treatises from the U.S. and U.K. Derived from the microfilm ...
- Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
This resource contains approximately 1.5 million pages of historical United States legal material including constitutional convention ...
- Making of Modern Law: Trials
"Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world... boasts more than 10,000 titles and ...
- Making of the Modern World,1450-1914
Digital and searchable editions of more than 62,000 titles, published between 1450 and 1914.
- MathSciNet (AMS)
MathSciNet is a searchable database providing Web access to "Mathematical Reviews", the journal of record which indexes, reviews and ...
- Michigan Geographic Data Library (MGDL)
From the Michigan Center for Geographic Information. Incorporates the Spatial Data Library of the Department of Natural Resources and ...
- Michigan Report (Gongwer)
Provides detailed coverage of every bill in the Michigan Legislature and closely tracks the activities of the executive and judicial ...
- MLibrary Digital Collections
Access to over 250 text, image, and finding aid collections that provide access to over a million digital objects.
NATLEX is a database of national labor, social security, and related human rights legislation.
- NBER Working Paper Series
View and download the full-text of the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers. Searchable by keyword and browsing ...
Searchable protein and nucleotide databases, "free" from NIH.
- New York Times, 1851-2013
Searchable access to the backfile of the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- UN ODS
Comprises the full text of all United Nations parliamentary documents since 1993 and resolutions issued since 1946. In addition to ...
- OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- Oxford Reference Online
Nearly 400 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
- PAIS Index
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.
- Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO)
THis database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, ...
“PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It makes use of the power, e ...
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
PSC provides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals,and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals.
- Polling the Nations
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 18,000 national, state, local and special surveys from over 1700 polling organizations
Covers family planning technology and programs, fertility, population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and more.
- ProQuest International Data Sets
Sub-national data for countries of the world from national governments, IGOs and private firms
- ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World
An online collection of statistical compendia from around the world.
- Public Administration Abstracts
Journal and magazine index of areas related to public administration, including public administration research, theory, and other areas ...
- PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links)
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Rotunda is a digital collection of critical and documentary editions.
- Roubini Global Economics
Subscription ended 6/23/14. Alternate resources provided.
- Routledge Handbooks Online
Over 800 Routledge Handbooks, International Handbooks and Companions on a wide variety of social sciences and humanities topics
- SAGE Handbook of Human Rights
This handbook examines human rights from perspectives including law, philosophy, and its mainstreaming in popular culture.
- Sage Stats
SAGE Stats is a data visualization and research platform that currently hosts two collections State Stats and Local Stats
- The Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993
Digital archive of studies, analyses, testimony, talking points & news clippings which detail the origins of the S&L crisis.
Combined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure ...
- SciTech Connect
Department of Energy database providing citations to publicly available energy-related publications of the Department of Energy (DOE), ...
SimplyMap allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Log in required for access.
- Social Science Research Network
A repository of research in the areas of accounting, economics, Latin America, and legal scholarship.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts covering over 1700 journals in the social sciences.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Searchable online access to S&P's reference works including: Market Investment News; Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives; ...
A portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics
- UN Treaty Collection
Includes status and full text of all multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations; bilateral and multilateral treaties ...
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The Serial Set contains official House and Senate reports, documents and journals. Includes the American State Papers.
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
Contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
- U.S. Trademark Search System
The Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) supports the trademark application process by providing for searching the existing ...
- US Political Stats
US Political Stats allows users to find, visualize, and compare data on Congress, the Supreme Court and the Presidency
- USA Trade Online
Trade information from the U.S. government. Export and import data for over 18,000 commodities.
- USPTO Patent Database
The database includes information about all United States patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) ...
- Very Short Introductions Online
Short ebooks that provide introductions to hundreds of subjects.
- Washington Information Directory
Directory of contact information for government and non-governmental (NGO) organizations
- Washington Post, 1877-1994
Searchable access to the complete backfile of the Washington Post, available in full page images digitized from microfilm. (For access ...
- We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Digital archive of FBI documents related to the Congress of Racial Equality's (CORE), Freedom Rides in 1961.
- Web of Science
Core Collection of multidisciplinary indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work.
- World Bank e-Library
Online, fully cross-searchable and browsable collection of over 3,900 World Bank publications and policy research working papers.
- World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)
Contains the current constitution of every country in the world (193 countries) in its original language. For countries where multiple ...
- World Development Indicators
Provides economic, social and environmental indicators for 210 economies. From the World Bank.
- World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)
WITS provides access to international merchandise trade and protection related data.
- World News Connection
CIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. ...
- World Politics Review
Current news coverage of international affairs
Combined catalog of 360+ million items of all kinds (books, periodicals, videos, maps, etc.) in 25,000+ libraries worldwide.
- Yearbook of International Associations
Online directory of the Yearbook Of International Organizations. Find NGOs by name, location or main areas of concern