Current Page Path
Browse results for: General and Comparative Literature in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 5 of 5
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
- Literature Criticism Online
Provides extensive excerpts from critical reviews of all kinds & periods of literature worldwide, searchable by author & work.
- IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
IBZ is a multilingual bibliography that indexes over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- Gale Literary Databases
Simultaneous search of three resources: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
1 - 47 of 47
- Absinthe: A Journal of World Literature in Translation
Absinthe: World Literature in Translation publishes foreign literature in English translation, with a particular focus on previously untran…
- African Writers Series
The African Writers Series offers access to key works from the highly acclaimed Heinemann's African Writers Series. This series ...
- Artemis Literary Sources
Combined full text of 2 million+ essays, reviews, biographies, timelines, etc. on all types & periods of literature worldwide.
The Atharvaveda came to be known as one of the four Indian Vedas and is one of the most significant and influential ancient Indian texts.
- Brill Journals
Humanities and International Studies journals from the publisher Brill
- Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online
English version of the famous bio-bibliography of Arabic works and their authors, with an emphasis on the Classical Period
- Brockelmann Online
Bio-bibliography of Arabic works and their authors, with an emphasis on the Classical Period.
- Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections
Portal to the following full-text American and English literature databases: * AFRICAN AMERICAN POETRY * AMERICAN POETRY * AMERICAN ...
- Complete Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson
A digital edition of the Complete Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson, Centenary Edition, edited and with notes by Edward Waldo Emerson.
- Contemporary Authors
A full-text bio-bibliographical guide to over 100,000 current and recently prominent writers in all media--fiction, poetry, drama, ...
- Cross Currents
Cross Currents is a yearbook of Central European civilization, history, literature, and politics published from 1982 to 1993.
- Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research (DAL)
Bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research
- Eighteenth Century Fiction (DLPS version)
Eighteenth Century Fiction includes 77 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles.
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
Comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics.
- Essay and General Literature Index
Indexes articles in books (anthologies and essay collections) in the humanities and social sciences published in the US, UK & Canada.
- Handbook of Translation Studies
Covers all aspects of Translation and Interpreting Studies.
- Index Translationum
International bibliography of translations of books published since 1979.
- Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online
Cross-searchable collection of 11 Includes 11 dictionaries containing 20.000 entries in 150 languages.
- International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
Selected from the Women’s Periodicals, 18th Century to the Great Depression
- The Journal of Electronic Publishing
The Journal of Electronic Publishing (JEP) is a forum for research and discussion about contemporary publishing practices.
- Latin Texts
This collection contains classic texts from Virgil, Ovid, Bacon and De Lille.
- Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (6th Edition)
An electronic edition of James Harner's guide to reference sources in English literary studies.
- Literature Resource Center: Reference Works
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines ...
Gateway to literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history
- Loeb Classical Library
250 ancient Greek and Latin authors in original language and in English translation.
- London Review of Books
Online access to all articles in all issues of the literary magazine with the largest circulation in Europe. Publishes intellectual ...
- MLibrary Finding Aids
The University of Michigan Library's Finding Aids site provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories.
- Motif-Index of Folk Literature
Subject index to folktales from around the world.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
- Oxford Reference Online
Nearly 400 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes over 7,000 arts, humanities & social science journals, from their first issues through 2000.
Volumes 2006-2007. Open to the world.|The journal "Plagiary" is devoted specifically to the study of plagiarism and related fabrications/fa…
- Post Identity
Volumes 1-5 (1997-2007). Open to the world.|Post Identity is an international, fully-refereed journal of the humanities. It features text-b…
- Post Identity Images
Post Identity is an international, fully-refereed journal of the humanities. It features text-based and multi-media scholarship that proble…
- PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay)
Access to issues from the last 90 days (or more) of over 7,000 newspapers & magazines from over 100 countries worldwide.
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
- Scribner’s Writers Online Series
Scribner’s Writers Series has biographical and critical essays on authors from around the world.
- Shakespeare: Editions and Adaptations
Contains eleven major editions, from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6.
- Short Story Index
An index to more than 250,000 short stories written in or translated into English, including full text for 5,000 of them.
- Special Collections Research Center Finding Aids
The U-M Special Collections Library Finding Aids site provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories.
- Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro
A full text database of over 800 plays comprising 68 volumes written by the sixteen most prolific dramatists of the Spanish Golden Age.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2008
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 through 2008.
- Translation Studies Bibliography
Covers all aspects of Translation and Interpreting Studies.
- Twayne’s Author Series
The Twayne’s Author Series ebooks provide in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of the major writers of the world.
- Voltaire électronique
A collection of electronic documents each containing an individual work by Voltaire.
- W. B. Yeats Collection (DLPS version)
Contains the major works of William Butler Yeats (1865-1939) in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism, and fiction.
Combined catalog of 360+ million items of all kinds (books, periodicals, videos, maps, etc.) in 25,000+ libraries worldwide.