Keep reading and researching
Current Page Path
Browse results for: African American Studies in Databases
1 - 60 of 60
- Academic Video Online
Offers nearly 70,000 streamed videos in a wide range of subject areas. Includes documentaries, feature films, news programs, and more.
- Accessible Archives
Provides full text, searchable access to important American magazines and newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
- African American Almanac
Provides historical and current information on African American history, society, and culture in 28 topical chapters.
- African American Biographical Database
The Largest Electronic Collection of Biographical Information on African Americans - 1790-1950.
- African American Communities
Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- African American Newspapers
Includes searchable full text of a number of African-American newspapers published from 1827 to 1902 from Accessible Archives
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from 35 states.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Over 170 periodicals from 26 states by and about African Americans.
- African American Poetry (ProQuest version)
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the 19th century.
- African American Police League Records (1961-1988)
Documents relating how African American policemen in Chicago fought discrimination and police brutality.
- African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience
This chronology presents the history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present..
- Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
Online collection of texts related to African American history from the Library Company of Philadelphia.
- Alexander Street Press
Combined search platform for ASP audio and video collections
- America's Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers provides searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. The collection ...
- American Drama 1714-1915
More than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005).
- Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984
Digital, searchable version of the Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003).
- Baltimore African-American, 1893-1988
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile from 1893-1988. Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
- Black Abolitionist Papers
Primary sources documenting the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the U.S. before the Civil War.
- Black Drama
Contains full text of 1,200 English plays ca. 1850-present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean.
- Black Drama: Second Edition
Contains 1,460 full text English plays ca. 1850-present by more than 250 playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean.
- Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
Reproduction of the originals from the Library of Congress.
- Black Historical Newspapers
Custom ProQuest cross-search of 9 major African American community newspapers published 1893 - 2005.
- Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle, 1970-1980
Reproduction of the originals from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
- 'Black Schools' in Canada, America and the Bahamas, 1645-1900
Full-text documents of The Associates of Dr. Bray, a religious society which educated African Americans in the North American colonies.
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Approximately 11,700 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.
- Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present and ...
- Black Studies in Video
Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage covering history, politics,sociology, art and culture.
- Black Thought and Culture
A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders.
- Chicago Defender, 1909-1975
Searchable access to the backfile of The Chicago Defender, a leading African-American newspaper, available in full page images ...
- Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
Digitized records of organizations including the NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, & CORE, along with FBI surveillance files on MLK, Jr. & from COINTELPRO.
- Database of 20th Century African American Poetry
Modern and contemporary African American poetry includes collected poems and individual volumes.
- Database of African-American Poetry
This database contains the full-text of 54 African-American poets writing in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
- Digital Scholar Lab
Facilitates the application of text mining and visualization tools on data sets created from the library's Gale Primary Sources
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
The Encyclopedia is a 5-volume set and a supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present ...
- Encyclopedia of African American Education
Articles on the education of African Americans from preschool through professional school, from historical and modern perspectives.
- Encyclopedia of African American Music
Showcases all facets of African American music including folk, religious, concert and popular styles.
- Encyclopedia of African American Society
This two-volume reference work details the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to ...
- Encyclopedia of Black Studies
The Encyclopedia of Black Studies has brought together the work of nearly 200 scholars with the objective of securing a baseline for ...
- FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
Reproduction of the originals from the Special Collections and Archives, Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library, Queens College.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale eBooks)
Provides online access to over 1,500 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers.
- International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
Black Studies Center journals module: index to currently published scholarly and popular periodicals in Black studies
- MyHeritage Library Edition
Resources for historical & genealogical research including over 9 billion historical records from all over the world.
- Norfolk Journal and Guide, 1916-2003
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003).
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Combines more than 7,500 articles by scholars drawn from reference works. Includes the complete text of Africana: The Encyclopedia of ...
- Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of the Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001).
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Custom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 30 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers.
- ProQuest History Vault
Primary sources for 19th and 20th century U.S. history
- The quest for labor equality in household work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979.
Reproduction of the originals from the Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.
- Race Relations Abstracts (EBSCO)
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, ...
- Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
Transcriptions of interviews with those who made history in the struggles against discrimination
- Republic of New Afrika
Digital archive of FBI records on the Black nationalist group, the Republic of New Afrika (RNA).
- SAGE Knowledge
A searchable collection of e-books, reference books and documentary videos in the social sciences.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Includes newpapers, books and manuscripts from US and European archives on slavery.
- Southern Life and Slavery
Includes digitized plantation records, 1775-1915, and petitions on race & slavery submitted to county courts and state legislatures, to 1867
- Twentieth-Century African American Poetry (ProQuest version)
Features almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
- World Newspaper Archive
Provides full text searchable access to historical newspapers published in Africa, East Europe, Latin American and South Asia.