Library Announces 2016-2017 Undergraduate Research Award Recipients

June 2, 2017
U-M Library Undergraduate Research Award Logo

The University Library is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016-2017 U-M Library Undergraduate Research Award. sponsored by the JABberwocky Literary Agency  For each of the past seven years, the U-M Library conducts a research award competition to recognize and celebrate the extraordinary academic achievements of our undergraduate students.

The award is given to students who demonstrate excellence in library research conducted in support of an undergraduate student project.  Projects can be in any format or medium such as a term paper, a website, a documentary or an art installation.  Individuals and groups from any discipline may apply.

Awards  are given in two categories: the Maize Award for single-term projects and the Blue Award for multi-term projects. Awards are evaluated on the strength of a letter of support from an instructor and the applicants' research, personal essays and bibliographies.

Maize Award for Single Term Projects

First Place: ($1,000): Margaret Johnson - Layered Places: Artists' Books by Kyoko Matsunaga

Second Place: ($500): Michael Barton - Strengths of Character and Virtues: What We Know and What We Still Want to Learn

Third Place: ($250): Anne Rosettt - Tectonic history of the Los Angeles Basin: Understanding what formed and deforms the city of Los Angeles


Blue Award for Multi-Term Projects

First Place: ($1,000): Joanna McKelvey - Sex Q & A: Sexual Health Content in Print and Online Advice Platforms in 2006 & 2016

Second Place: ($500): Kiri Alvarado - Listening to Women's Voices: Women, Religion, and Healing in the Paston and Lisle Letters

Third Place: ($250): Asma Baban - God & Books: A Study of Iraqi Refugees in Greater Detroit and their Relationship with Religion and Education

Global Award: ($500): Zachary Arrington - On the Architectonics of Social Change: Control and resistance in the Chilean student movement


For more information on the U-M Library Undergraduate Research Award winners and their projects, please go to the award page.

For more information contact Pamela J Mackintosh at

Page maintained by Pamela J Mackintosh
Last modified: 06/09/2017