Library Announces 2014-2015 Undergraduate Research Award Recipients

June 10, 2015
U-M Library Undergraduate Research Award logo

The University Library is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014-2015 U-M Library Undergraduate Research Award.  Each year, the U-M Library conducts a research award competition to recognize and celebrate the extraordinary academic achievements of our undergraduate students.  The award is given to students who demonstrate excellence in library or archival research conducted in support of an undergraduate student project.

In this fifth year of the award, the committee received 34 applications drawn from across a numerous disciplines.  Each year we honor both individual and group projects.  This year we added a new Global award to both the Maize and Blue categories to recognize projects that have a global or international focus.  We selected those projects that best represented the fullest and most innovative use of library resources.  Choosing winners was not easy and the author of each project has cause for pride.  All applications submitted are a testimony to the abundance of diligence, intelligence, and originality that exists in the work being done by the University of Michigan's undergraduates, to the richness of the library's resources, and to the commitment of the University's professors and librarians to undergraduate learning.  The projects receiving this year's award are extraordinary achievements in themselves, but they are also representative of the vibrant intellectual life at the University of Michigan.

Maize Awards (Single Term):

First Place ($1,000):  Bing Sun  “The Influence of Ethnic Minority Demographics on Provincial Preferential Policy Making in the Chinese College Admission System” (Political Science/Michigan in Washington)

Second Place ($500):  Obadiah Brown, Maria Buczkowski, Chris Haughey, Kevin Trierweiler, and Andreea Matei  “Resistance and Revolution: The Anti-Vietnam War Movement at the University of Michigan, 1965-1972” (History)
Third Place ($250):  Tina Yu  “Hope Under Assault: Understanding the Impact of Sexual Assault on the Relation Between Hope and Suicidal Risk” (Psychology)

Global ($500):  Emily Bodden, Mario Goetz, Emilie Neumeier, Aaron Szulczewski, and Leslie Teng  “Divestment for Humanity: The Anti-Apartheid Movement at the University of Michigan” (History)

Blue Awards (Multi-Term):

First Place ($1,000):  Sara Ann Knutson  “Bridges to Eternity: Women, Conversion, & Religion in Viking-Age Sweden” (History)

Second Place ($500):  Samuel Schotland  “Making “Healthy” Height: A History of American Stature, 1885-1940” (History)

Third Place ($250):  Emily Paull  “Ann Batten Cristall and the Lyrical Sketch: The Influence of Eighteenth-Century Aesthetics on Lyric Performativity” (English)

Global ($500):  Monique Becker  “An Escape from the Perceived Rationalist-Constructivist Binary: A Look Into Derogable Human Rights Agreements” (International Studies)

Read more about the winners and their projects.

For more information contact the award committee at or go to the award website.

For more information contact Pamela J Mackintosh at

Page maintained by Pamela J Mackintosh
Last modified: 06/11/2015