The Snopes Family Trilogy

Major Novels || Introduction || Family and Early Life || Southern Roots || Apprentice Years || Adaptations and Hollywood Films || Translations || Faulkner Studies and Miscellany


William Faulkner. The Hamlet. New York: Random House, 1940.

The first of the Snopes trilogy, The Hamlet, depicts the beginning of Flem Snopes's systematic rise to wealth and power by means of treachery and cunning. He moves from being a poor white tenant farmer to clerk in the general store of Frenchman's Bend

William Faulkner. The Town. New York: Random House, 1957.

In The Town (1957), he finds employment in the bank of Jefferson, eventually becoming vice-president.

William Faulkner. The Mansion. New York: Random House, 1959.

In The Mansion (1959), he attains the presidency of the bank and occupies the mansion once owned by his predecessor whom he has ruthlessly supplanted.

The last section of the novel incorporates the story of the spotted horses, a piece of writing that some critics call Faulkner's finest achievement as a writer of fiction. The episode combines farce and comedy with pathos and tragedy as the hapless villagers vainly try to capture the mad steeds they have just purchased, while Mrs. Armstid tries unsuccessfully to reclaim the precious money her husband has just wasted on a horse he doesn't need.

Special Collections Library
The University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Last Modified: August 1998