|
Libraries > Shapiro > Research Help
|
Text only
|
|
|
|
Shapiro Undergraduate Library
Library Glossary
This is a list of terms commonly used by library staff, who sometimes forget
that library terminology is not common knowledge.
-
abstract
-
Summary of an article, book, or other written publication.
-
acquisitions
- Materials which are bought for the libraries, or the department of the library which buys materials.
-
archives
- Public records or historical documents, or the place where such records
and documents are kept.
-
bibliographic citation
- The information which identifies a book or article. Information for
a book usually includes the author, title, publisher, and date. The
citation for an article includes the author, title of the article, title
of the periodical, volume, pages, and date.
-
bibliography
- A list of books, articles, or other sources (interviews, films) on
a particular subject. Bibliographies may be found at the end of books
or articles, or may be separate publications.
-
bindery
- Books that need repair and periodicals are sent out of the library
system and are not available to users
-
bound
- Refers to several issues of a peridical which are joined together
under one cover.
-
call number
- A group of letters and numbers given to each item which is used to
arrange materials in the library The Library of Congress System (LC
call number) is used for most University of Michigan materials; an example:
GV 836 .A2C72.
-
CD-ROM
- A read-only-memory compact disk, used to store printed information
such as periodical indexes. This disk is used with computer.
-
charge out or check out
- The process of borrowing materials to use outside the library. This
is done at the circulation desk. A student ID or faculty/staff library
card is required.
-
circulation desk
-
Also frequently called circ, the area to check out library materials.
-
citation
-
Same as bibliographic citation
-
claimed
-
Notification that a periodical was not received as expected.
-
course reserves
-
Materials that instructors set aside for the students in a class to
read. These items may be borrowed for a short period and have very high
fines.
-
cumulative index
-
An index in which several previously published indexes are combined
into one book.
-
current periodical
-
The most recent issues of a journal or magazine, often published during
the last year, which have not been bound. database searching - using
a computer system to list journal article citations on a subject. There
is often a fee charged to the patron when a reference librarian searches
a commercial database at the request of the patron.
-
depository
-
A library which receives the publications of a government. The University
of Michigan is a partial depository for publications of the U.S. Government,
the State of Michigan, the United Nations, and the Government of Canada.
-
hold
-
A hold guarantees that when a book is returned to the circulation
desk it will be saved for you.
-
holdings
-
The group of items included in a library.
-
index
-
A list of subjects, names, titles, etc. that helps you to locate information.
A periodical index lists articles by subject or author. A book index
is a list at the end of a book which gives pages numbers where names
and subjects can be found in the book.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
-
A way to get materials owned by other libraries.
-
journal
-
A publication which has scholarly information, usually written by
professors, researchers, or experts in a subject area., and not intended
for the general public. See magazine.
-
Library of Congress Subject Headings
-
Four large red books containing the vocabulary, or subject headings,
necessary to find information in the card catalog or online catalog.
-
magazine
-
A periodical intended for the general public rather than for scholars.
-
manuscript
-
A handwritten or typed composition, rather than printed.
-
microforms
-
Microfiche (4 by 6 inch cards) and microfilm (a roll of film); printed
items which have been reduced in size by photographic methods to save
space.
-
monograph
-
A book.
-
online database
-
A computerized file, often of periodical indexes.
-
online searching
-
Using an off-site computer system to find periodical citations on
a subject. There is often a fee charged to the library user.
-
periodical
-
An item which is published on a regular basis, such as journals, magazines,
and newspapers.
-
reserves
-
Same as course reserves. Other materials may also be kept on reserve
-
search
-
If a book is not on the shelves and it is not checked out, you may
place a request at the circulation desk for one of the library staff
to try and find the book and hold it for you.
-
serial
-
A publication which is intended to continue indefinitely. This includes
periodicals such as magazines, journals, newspapers, and books such
as almanacs and yearbooks which come out every year.
-
subject heading
-
The specific word or phrase used to find a book or article on a specific
topic in a catalog or periodical index.
-
vertical file
-
A collection of pamphlets, newspaper clippings, or other small published
items.
-
volume
-
A number of issues of a periodical, usually a year.
|
|

|
|
|