.: Assignment Assistant :.

Annotated Bibliography


Challenge:

Create an annotated bibliography.


Solution:

An annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of resources. Each entry includes the standard bibliographic citation - author, title, publisher, etc. - found in any bibliography, plus a concise (about 150 words) description of the resource and some comment on its value or relevance. When creating an annotated bibliography for class, be sure to read your assignment carefully and completely. Make sure you include all the information your professor requires.

An annotation is generally more than just a summary of a reference. A summary describes the main points of a source. Usually, an annotation both describes and analyzes a resource. Points to consider when making your analysis are:

Annotated bibliographies not only provide a list of the resources you used on a project, but also

There are four main types of annotation used in bibliographies. The requirements and purpose of your assignment or project will determine which form you use.

Type Description and use
Indicative defines the source scope, lists significant topics, and tells what the source is about; shorter than an informative annotation because it gives no actual information from the source (hypotheses, proofs)
Informative summarizes the source: beginning with the thesis, including the main arguements and proofs, ending with the conclusion
Evaluative assesses the value of the source, outlining its strengths and weaknesses
Combination The most commonly used annotation form. One or two sentences summarizing the content and one or two sentences evaluating the source.

 

Annotations can be made for any citation format - APA, MLA, AMA,etc. Records in an annotated bibliography should look something like this:

Author. (publication date). Title. Place published: publisher.

Annotation

 

Resources:

[ Home ]