Oxford History of Western Music Now Available

March 24, 2014

The Library now has perpetual access to the electronic edition of Richard Taruskin's Oxford History of Western Music. Originally published in 5 volumes by Oxford University Press, this resource covers the history of the development of Western classical music. Key content and features include:

  • Access the full text from the Oxford History of Western Music with notes, bibliographies and further readings for all 69 chapters
  • Browse 500 illustrations, 1,800 musical examples, and the index from the 2009 print edition
  • Connect to relevant entries in Grove Music Online
  • Jump to art credits for the volume or to further reading lists with open-URL compliant links
  • Personalize by saving searches and sharing the results via social networking sites
  • Printer-friendly formatting

Please e-mail the Music Library (music.library@umich.edu) with any questions or comments about this resource.

Groups audience: 
Page maintained by Jason Imbesi
Last modified: 03/24/2014