MIX: Faculty/Librarian Panel Discussion Bios


Scott Dennis is Humanities Librarian and Coordinator of Core Electronic Resources at the University of Michigan Library. He has been a reference librarian with collection development and management responsibilities for over 20 years, first at Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin and since 1997 at U-M Ann Arbor. He lectures regularly at the University of Michigan School of Information and is the 2011 recipient of U-M’s University Librarian Achievement Award. He received his BA in Philosophy from the University of Chicago, his MA in English from the University of California-Berkeley, and his MILS from the University of Michigan.


Leena Lalwani is the Coordinator for Arts & Engineering Collection at the Art, Architecture and Engineering Library (AAEL) at the University of Michigan Library. Leena has been with the University of Michigan library since 1995 in various positions as an Engineering Librarian. She is the liaison Librarian for Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Entrepreneurship program. In addition, she is also the patent specialist for her library. Prior to joining University of Michigan, Leena has worked as Librarian at Gelman Sciences and American Tobacco Company. Leena has a MLS degree from Catholic University of America and a MS in Chemistry from the University of Mumbai.

Johannes Schwank is James and Judith Street Professor of Chemical Engineering, and the Interim Director of the University of Michigan Energy Institute. He holds a PhD degree in Physical Chemistry from Innsbruck University in Austria. In 1978, he came to the University of Michigan as a Fulbright-Hays scholar. He joined the faculty at the University of Michigan in 1980 where he rose through the ranks and became Full Professor of Chemical Engineering in 1990. He served as Chairman of the Chemical Engineering Department from 1990 – 1995, and is currently a member of the College of Engineering Executive Committee at the University of Michigan. He also holds an appointment as Guest Professor at Tianjin University, China, for 2011-2013. He serves on the International Science Council of the King Abdullah Institute for Nanotechnology in Saudi Arabia. He was Co-Chair of the 22nd North American Catalysis Society Meeting in Detroit, June 5-10, 2011, and serves on several editorial boards and advisory boards.
Johannes is the author of more than 170 refereed publications, and holds eight U.S. patents. His research group is working on a wide range of topics, including nanostructured materials for catalysis, energy storage, and gas sensing applications; synthetic fuels from coal and biomass; hydrogen production from gasoline, diesel, and jet fuel; solid oxide fuel cells; automotive emission control catalysts; photocatalysis; and novel catalyst synthesis and characterization methods.

Amanda Peters is the University Learning Communities Librarian for the University of Michigan Library. She has a MLIS from Kent State University, and a BA and MA in English Literature from The University of Toledo. She has worked at the Shapiro Undergraduate Library for eleven years, and during that time has focused on library instruction and reference services as the Coordinator of Instruction and Outreach. In her current role as the University Learning Communities Librarian, she works to promote close relationships between campus learning communities and the library, and continues to coordinate instruction, programs, and events for undergraduates, including new student orientation and an open house event during Welcome Week.

Joe Horton is a lecturer in the English Department Writing Program at the University of Michigan, where he teaches first–year composition and literature classes as well as creative writing and academic argumentation. He has received the Moscow Prize for Excellence in Teaching Composition and the Rackham School's Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award. A graduate of the University of Michigan MFA Creative Writing Program and the University of Southern California, he is also Playwright-in-Residence with Savio(u)r Theatre Company in London.

Page maintained by Diana Perpich
Last modified: 05/21/2014