The image above is a cross-section of the library complex in 1964.
It was created by Albert Kahn Associated Architects and Engineers
as a part of their proposal outlining the construction of the South
of the Graduate Library has lasted over a century.
The north building
of the current Graduate Library was built in 1920 by Albert Kahn.
The building was constructed around the metal stacks of the previous
library building that was built in 1883, known as the General Library.
Kahn was praised for his ability to construct a large building at
a low cost, thanks to his experience in factory construction. (Kahn
& Associates also built Hill Auditorium and the Natural Sciences
Building). The north building was built primarily using reinforced
concrete - an innovation of the time - and was therefore safe from
fire while allowing plentiful natural light. 
of the South Building in 1970 was accomplished according to three
specific principles. First, the new addition had to be flexible
to allow the possibility of using any area in the building interchangeably
for book storage, readers, carrels, or staff work space. Second,
the addition could not detract from the buildings surrounding the
addition (especially the president's house and Clements Library).
And third, the new building could not interrupt the flow of east-west
pedestrian traffic (especially from the Union to the Undergraduate
of the library continues today in a variety of ways. The Friends
of the Library funded a project that improved the aesthetic appeal
of the Information Center on the second floor of the library through
the addition of artwork and library-specific, inspiring quotations.
Currently, the building is undergoing extensive rewiring to meet
the demands of the digital age.