MLibrary Browse results for Search Engines in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 5 of 5
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (now ProQuest)
Cross-searchable access to all former CSA databases now available on the ProQuest platform.
- Google Scholar (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)
Searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- Web of Knowledge
Provides cross-search of multiple databases: ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (citation indexes), Current Contents ...
- OAIster
Uses the Open Archives Initiative (OAI) protocol to gather over 23 million records of free, useful, wide-ranging digital resources ...
- ProQuest
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
Other Databases
1 - 16 of 16
- ArticlesPlus
Access to over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines.
- Brill Online Reference Works
Crosssearches Brill's online reference works in Classical Studies, Jewish Studies, and Near Eastern Studies.
- Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
Online Catalog of the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago.
- EBSCOhost
Access to over 80 databases provided by EBSCO, in the EBSCOhost interface. Includes former WilsonWeb databases and NetLibrary ebooks.
- FirstSearch
Access to 17 databases provided by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) using their FirstSearch interface.
- Gale Databases: Michigan e-Library (MeL)
Combined search of 17 databases from Gale provided to all public libraries statewide by the Michigan e-Library (MeL), including ...
- Gale Databases: UM Only
Provides combined search of two databases from Gale licensed by UM-Ann Arbor (but not by the Michigan e-Library), Discovering ...
- Google
Reputedly the largest search engine database providing access to material of all kinds on the Internet.
- Google Book Search
Searches the full text of books, including those in the University of Michigan Libraries that have been scanned by Google. For works in ...
- Google Image Search
Uses the Google search engine to locate digital images (photographs, drawings, charts, etc.) on the Internet.
- Google Patents
With Google Patent Search, you can now search the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you. Patent ...
- MGet It Citation Linker
Creates a University of Michigan MGet It (formerly SFX) links to services webpage (fulltext, catalog, etc. links) based on citation ...
- NewsBank
Access to 11 databases from NewsBank, Inc., including: Access World News [full text newspapers, 1990s-present]; AccessUN [index of ...
- SCIRUS (Elsevier)
Scirus is a free science-specific search engine from Elsevier covering science-related journal articles, preprints, patents and ...
- WilsonWeb
As of February 1, 2012, all WilsonWeb databases are incorporated into the EBSCOhost interface platform.
- Yahoo! Search
A large, unique search engine database that includes links to the Yahoo! directory. Indexes first 500 KB of a Web page. Includes some ...

