Browse

Browse

Browse results for Physics

Databases

Highly Recommended Databases

1-5 of 5
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Contains frequently used data in science, including the periodical table of the elements, basic constants and units, and geophysical data.
Web of Science
Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals.
INSPEC
On ENGINEERING VILLAGE platform, covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceedings papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
SPIRES HEP Database
An index to the literature of the particle and high-energy physics community, which has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960's.
arxiv.org e-prints
Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science and quantitative biology

Other Databases

1-30 of 30
AIP Scitation (American Institute of Physics)
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in physics and engineering published by the American Institute of Physics.
American Physical Society Journals
Access to the journals published by the American Physical Society (APS), including Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, Physical Review A, Physical Review B, Physical Review C, Physical Review D, Physical Review E, Physical Review Special Topics, Physics.
ARIBIB
Online version of Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts (AAA) and the earlier Astronomischer Jahresbericht covering the literature from 1880 to the most current volume of AAA. Database is created and hosted by the Astronomisches Rechen-Institut in Heidelbe
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Cross-searchable access to over 60 databases available on the CSA Illumina interface platform, in the areas of Arts & Humanities, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, and Technology.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog) [FirstSearch]
Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, foreign relations, public health and social issues.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog) [GPO Access]
Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, foreign relations, public health and social issues.
COS (Community of Science)
A suite of Web-based products and services academics and researchers can use to promote their work, find funding, access experts, consult, and collaborate with colleagues. Includes the COS Expertise and COS Funding Opportunities databases.
COS Funding Opportunities
Searchable database with more than 25,000 records representing over 400,000 funding opportunities for research, worth over $33 billion. One of the COS databases.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Contains 2000+ specially-commissioned, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics. Updated continuously.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry
Covers quantum mechanics of atoms, molecules, and condensed phases; thermodynamics, statistical mechanics, electrochemistry, chemical kinetics, molecular reaction dynamics, surface reactions. From Institue of Physics (IoP).
Energy Citations Database
Department of Energy database providing citations to publicly available energy-related publications of the Department of Energy (DOE), the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA), and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
Engineering Index (Compendex)
On ENGINEERING VILLAGE platform, Engineering Index (Compendex) provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Environment & Energy Daily
Tracks legislative action on environmental, energy and natural resources issues. Covers Congressional appropriations, hearings, markups, bill introductions, floor actions, and more. Users can sign up for daily email alerts of important news stories.
General Science Abstracts (with Full Text)
Indexes over 160 leading scientific journals and magazines published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Basic, core coverage across all scientific fields, from astronomy to zoology. Full text is included for many articles since 1994.
HighWire Press Journals
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in the health, life, physical and social sciences published online by HighWire Press, the "Internet Imprint" of the Stanford University Libraries.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews & dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine & allied historical fields. Integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. IEEE eLearning Library selects the best educational courses from IEEE conferences and workshops around the world and delivers them in engaging, instructional and interactive online courses.
Institute of Physics (IoP) Electronic Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in physics and engineering published by the Institute of Physics.
Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Provider of electronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Titles include Lange's Handbook of Chemistry and books from the AIAA.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Contains citations, with abstracts for most years, to journals and series in meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and related environmental sciences. Updated monthly.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
The Digital Library of Mathematical Functions (DLMF) Project was initiated to perform a complete revision of Abramowitz and Stegun's Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables, published in 1964 by the National Bureau of Standards. See R. F. Boisvert and D. W. Lozier (2001) for historical background about this important publication. The DLMF Project has updated and expanded the coverage for current needs. The results have been published in book form as the NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions, by Cambridge University Press, and disseminated in the free electronic Digital Library of Mathematical Functions.
NIST Physical Reference Data
National Institute of Standards & Technology resource for physics data on the web. Includes data for atomic & molecular spectroscopy, X-ray & gamma-ray phsyics, condensed matter physics and nuclear physics, and various physical constants.
NTIS Database (National Technical Information Services)
Indexes reports on government sponsored R&D from selected federal agencies (e.g. Department of Energy, EPA), their contractors, and their grantees (e.g. U of M).
OAIster
Uses the Open Archives Initiative (OAI) protocol to gather over 23 million records of free, useful, wide-ranging digital resources hosted at over 1,100 institutions. Covers resources of all kinds, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, datasets, theses, technical reports, research papers, etc. All records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online)
Contains access to more than 2,000 journals published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
SciFinder
Combined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure or substructure, reaction, name, formula, etc. or natural language queries. 8-user limit. Database use restricted to current UM-affiliates. Requires the creation of an individual user account (see instructions in guide).
Solid State Abstracts
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts, expanded and jointly published with Engineering Information, presents global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology. Among the topics covered: phase, crystal, and mechanical properties of solids , optical and dielectric properties , conductive and magnetic properties , exotic electronic structure and energy gaps , SQUIDs , impurity effects , flux structures and critical current , ceramics , twinning phenomena, and more.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library includes over 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE journals and proceedings published since 1990.
SPIE E-Books
Online source for three valuable series of SPIE Press titles in optics and photonics: * SPIE Press Monographs are authoritative reference books, textbooks, and handbooks. * Tutorial Texts cover fundamental and emerging topics at introductory and intermediate levels. * Field Guides present key information that students and practicing engineers and scientists need in a concise format. SPIE eBooks launched with 120 books in January 2010; 15 to 20 new titles and editions will be added during the year. As new books are published, they will be available in SPIE eBooks first.
SpringerLink
Provides online full-text access to many of the Springer electronic journals; along with many electronic books and series.