MLibrary Browse results for Government, Politics & Law in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 5 of 5
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog) [FirstSearch]
Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other ...
- CQ Weekly Report
Analytical articles on Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995.
- Google Scholar (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)
Searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- JSTOR
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- LegalTrac
Indexes major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers covering U.S. federal and ...
Other Databases
1 - 134 of 134
- Access UN
This databases contains complete bibliographic citations of UN documents and publications. Indexes United Nations documents since 1946.
- Africa Development Indicators
Africa Development Indicators contains over 1,600 indicators and time series from 1961 to the present for 53 countries.
- Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left publications, which cover cultural, economic, political and social change.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, ...
- America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations - Vietnam Veterans Against the War
Digital archive of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War.
- American FactFinder
Population, housing and economic census data from ongoing surveys including American Community Survey
- American Law Yearbook
This annual supplement to West's Encyclopedia of American Law updates and expands the content with dozens of new topics. The 2005 ...
- Archive Finder
A database listing over 200,000 manuscript and other special collections at thousands of repositories in the U.S., U.K. and Ireland.
- Armed Conflict Database
Analyzes armed conflicts around the world since 1997, including non-state armed groups and the death toll. Major features: statistics, ...
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Digital archive of records documenting U.S. and British relations with a variety of Asian Nations.
- Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP)
BOP summarizes economic transactions of economies from 1948 to the present.
- BE Press Journals: now DeGruyter Journals
BE Press Journals provides access to journals published by Berkeley Electronic Press including several open access titles.
- British Politics and Society
Digital archive that documents the development of urban centers and the restructuring of society during the Industrial Revolution.
- CANCERLIT
Contains references and abstracts to published cancer literature, which is part of the Medline database, presented through PubMed.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog)
Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other ...
- Census 2000 Long-Form Data [UM Library Terminal Services]
Contains over 800 tables of sample demographic, social,economic,and housing data collected from the 2000 Census. Geographic levels ...
- CensusCD+Maps [UM Library Terminal Services]
Contains complete 1990 US census data down to census block group, projections of demographics and consumer spending, complete map ...
- Center for Geographic Information
Michigan demographic, economic, educational, geographic, and recreation data. Formerly called the Michigan Information Center, CGI now ...
- CIAO
Full text of conference proceedings, think tank articles, some journals, and working papers on international affairs.
- Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation
Digital archive of oral histories documenting the Cold War.
- UN Commodity Trade Statistics
International trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country, for over 130 countries. Commodities are classified according ...
- CQ Almanac
CQ Almanac contains unbiased, objective and comprehensive summaries of all Capitol Hill activity from the previous congress.
- CQ Congress Collection
Provides analysis of members of Congress and data on how they vote on legislation
- CQ Political Contact Suite
Collection of directories, encyclopedias and guides on US politics and policy from CQ Press.
- CQ Political Reference Suite
Includes CQ Almanac, Guide to Political Campaigns in America, Historic Documents Series and many others.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, ...
- CQ Supreme Court Collection
Provides historical analysis and commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court ...
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection
- Current Index to Statistics
A bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. Covers all articles from 106 "core journals," selected ...
- UN Data
You can find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and ...
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations
- Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers
Contains the most significant historical statistics of the United States from 1789 to 2003, with projections to 2050.
- Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)
Full text of Presidential, Executive Branch, and Congressional documents since World War II declassified under the Freedom of ...
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Contains themed collections of over 80,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions.
- Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT)
Provides export and import data between countries from 1980.
- E-STAT
A dynamic interactive tool providing reliable and timely statistics about Canada and its ever-changing people, including Canadian ...
- EconLit
Index and abstract of journals and books, dissertations, and working papers for the field of economics.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Online access to EIU publications and reports including China Hand, Country Briefings, Country Commerce, Country Finance, Country ...
- EIU Country Indicators
Economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major markets worldwide. Includes historic and forecast data on over 250 ...
- Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Comprehensively addresses conflict on all levels, from interpersonal to international.
- Environment & Energy Daily
Tracks legislative action on environmental, energy and natural resources issues. Covers Congressional appropriations, hearings, ...
- Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Summaries and key issues from government-released environmental impact statements, including project descriptions, positive impacts, ...
- ERIC [ProQuest]
U.S. Dept. of Education database providing extensive access to educational-related literature.
- European Patent Office (EPO)
EPO contains all the patent documentation available to EPO examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member ...
- Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
Digital archive documenting the missionary work of the Presbyterian Church in Syria and Lebanon.
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.
- FDsys
The Government Printing Office (GPO) official source for information from all three branches of U.S. government
- Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Digital collection of documents related to the FBI's investigation of those deemed politically suspect.
- Foreign Broadcast Info Index
Indexes CIA translations of newswire and news broadcast services from around the world. The publications themselves are available on ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, ...
- GEONet Names Server
The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (formerly Defense Mapping Agency) database ...
- Global Development Finance
GDF provides statistical data on the external debt of 128 developing countries. Covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic ...
- Global Economic Monitor
Global Economic Monitor provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency ...
- Global Insight
Cancellation Notice: IHS Global Insight will be cancelled in late 2012. Send comments to ss.elec@umich.edu
- Google Patents
With Google Patent Search, you can now search the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you. Patent ...
- Government Finance Statistics (GFS)
Contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue and expense of governments and their subsectors from 1990.
- Greenwire
Reports on national environmental, energy and natural resources issues as they are addressed by the White House, federal agencies, ...
- HathiTrust Digital Library
Searchable access to 9 million+ volumes, with full text access to 2.5 million+ volumes.
- HealthCare.gov
Allows consumers to locate and compare private health insurance plans, hospitals and nursing homes, and provides information about the ...
- HeinOnline
A retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information ...
- Historical Statistics of U.S.
Includes over 12,500 time series and all descriptive text, an electronic book for easy viewing and searching, and Lotus 1-2-3- files ...
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP ...
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social ...
- IHS Jane's Defense & Security Intelligence & Analysis
Full text of the current edition of Jane's All the World's Aircraft
- In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994
Digital archive of primary sources documenting the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Deficiency Syndrome (NCAIDS).
- Index to Current Urban Documents
Guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research ...
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Indexes 450 legal periodicals published outside the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain since 1985. Covers international law (public and ...
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (with Full Text)
Covers 1,025+ legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, statutes, bar association publications, etc from the US and British Commonwealth.
- Information Please Almanac
Web site for the popular compilations of facts and statistics covering politics, current events, geography, history, business, sports, ...
- International Country Risk Guide
Four datasets comparing political, financial and economic risk for countries worldwide for the period 1984-2009.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences
- International Financial Statistics (IFS) Database
Contains approximately 32,000 time series on the finances of over than 200 countries and areas worldwide.
- International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO)
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), provides abstracts of about 8,000 political science articles per year, published in ...
- International Studies Encyclopedia
A comprehensive reference work for the field of international studies and international relations.
- iPoll
Polling data from nearly 400,000 questions asked on national public opinion surveys. Searchable by keyword, polling organization, and ...
- Legal Information Reference Center
Legal self-help and reference books
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign ...
- LexisNexis State Capital
Bill status and text for all 50 states since 1990; full text of current state legal and regulatory codes; state political newsletters; ...
- Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
Digital archive of FBI documents detailing surveillance of the ALSC and A-ARPR.
- LLMC Digital (Law Library Microform Consortium)
Digital versions of the LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium) collections. A work in progress, the site currently contains material ...
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises
A searchable, full-text database of 22,000 English language legal treatises from the U.S. and U.K. Derived from the microfilm ...
- Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
This resource contains approximately 1.5 million pages of historical United States legal material including constitutional convention ...
- Making of Modern Law: Trials
"Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world... boasts more than 10,000 titles and ...
- Making of the Modern World,1450-1914
Digital and searchable editions of more than 62,000 titles, published between 1450 and 1914.
- MathSciNet (AMS)
MathSciNet is a searchable database providing Web access to "Mathematical Reviews", the journal of record which indexes, reviews and ...
- Michigan Geographic Data Library (MGDL)
From the Michigan Center for Geographic Information. Incorporates the Spatial Data Library of the Department of Natural Resources and ...
- Michigan Report (Gongwer)
Provides detailed coverage of every bill in the Michigan Legislature and closely tracks the activities of the executive and judicial ...
- MLibrary Digital Collections
Access to over 250 text, image, and finding aid collections that provide access to over a million digital objects.
- National Journal
Current news, polls and predictions covering US politics and policy focusing on Congress and the President
- NBER Working Paper Series
View and download the full-text of the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers. Searchable by keyword and browsing ...
- NCBI
Searchable protein and nucleotide databases, "free" from NIH. Includes genetics information from Medline, GenBank, EMBL, DDBJ, ...
- New York Times, 1851-2008
Searchable access to the backfile of the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- NTIS Database (National Technical Information Services)
Indexes reports on government sponsored R&D from selected federal agencies (e.g. Department of Energy, EPA), their contractors, and ...
- Occupational Safety & Health Reporter
In-depth articles on developments affecting job safety and health, including federal standards, enforcement activities, litigation, ...
- UN ODS
Comprises the full text of all United Nations parliamentary documents since 1993 and resolutions issued since 1946. In addition to ...
- OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.
- Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO)
THis database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, ...
- PolicyArchive
“PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It makes use of the power, e ...
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
PSC provides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals,and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals.
- Polling the Nations
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and over 60 other ...
- PopLine
Covers family planning technology and programs, fertility, population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and ...
- ProQuest Congressional
Includes bills, laws, Congressional publications, hearings, reports, Congressional Record and CRS Reports...
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Best bet for statistics on the population, economy and life in the US starting in 2013
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from international, US and state governments and businesses
- Public Administration Abstracts
Journal and magazine index of areas related to public administration, including public administration research, theory, and other areas ...
- PubMed @ UM (with MGet It links)
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- RGE Monitor
RGE Monitor tracks and aggregates information on global economic and geo-strategic issues.
- SciFinder
Combined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure ...
- SCIRUS (Elsevier)
Scirus is a free science-specific search engine from Elsevier covering science-related journal articles, preprints, patents and ...
- SciTech Connect
Department of Energy database providing citations to publicly available energy-related publications of the Department of Energy (DOE), ...
- SimplyMap
SimplyMap allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports ...
- Social Science Research Network
A repository of research in the areas of accounting, economics, Latin America, and legal scholarship.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts covering over 1700 journals in the social sciences.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Searchable online access to S&P's reference works including: Market Investment News; Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives; ...
- Statista
A portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics
- UN Treaty Collection
Includes status and full text of all multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations; bilateral and multilateral treaties ...
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The Serial Set contains official House and Seante reports, documents and journals. Includes the American State Papers.
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
Contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
- U.S. Trademark Search System
The Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) supports the trademark application process by providing for searching the existing ...
- USA Trade Online
Trade information from the U.S. government. Export and import data for over 18,000 commodities.
- USPTO Patent Database
The database includes information about all United States patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) ...
- Washington Information Directory
Directory of contact information for government and non-governmental (NGO) organizations
- Washington Post, 1877-1994
Searchable access to the complete backfile of the Washington Post, available in full page images digitized from microfilm. (For access ...
- We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Digital archive of FBI documents related to the Congress of Racial Equality's (CORE), Freedom Rides in 1961.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index which permits searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, etc.
- World Almanacs
Combines all the general facts, brief profiles and data included in Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, the World Almanac and Book of ...
- World Bank e-Library
Online, fully cross-searchable and browsable collection of over 3,900 World Bank publications and policy research working papers.
- World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)
Contains the current constitution of every country in the world (193 countries) in its original language. For countries where multiple ...
- World Development Indicators
Provides economic, social and environmental indicators for 210 economies. From the World Bank.
- World News Connection
CIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. ...
- WorldCat
Over 62 million records describing books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic ...

