MLibrary Browse results for General Information Sources in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 10 of 10
- Encyclopædia Britannica
Encyclopaedia Britannica's latest article database (including hundreds of articles not found in the print edition), Merriam-Webster's ...
- Oxford English Dictionary (Third Edition)
Current web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language, with historical quotations.
- WorldCat
Over 62 million records describing books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic ...
- Biography in Context
Contains more than 440,000 biographies on more than 340,000 people from around the world and throughout history.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
Provides searchable online access to the 16th (2010) and 15th (2003) editions of the standard style manual, as well as a downloadable ...
- Gale Directory Library
Combined access to five annual directories covering publishers, media, research centers, scholarships, etc.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides online access to the complete full text of over 100 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers. Includes: ...
- Oxford Reference Online
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford ...
- ReferenceUSA
White- and yellow-pages directory listings for all U.S. residences and businesses, supplemented with government information from the ...
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Provides bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types–-academic and scholarly journals, Open A ...
Other Databases
1 - 429 of 429
- A-V Online
A database of distribution sources for educational media on videotape, film, audiocassette, and other formats.
- Academic OneFile
Provides indexing for over 8,000 scholarly journals, industry periodicals, general interest magazines and newspapers.
- Access World News [NewsBank]
Full text of 600+ U.S. newspapers and 260+ English-language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine offers a complete suite of clinical and educational content from leading books, including Harrison's Principles of ...
- AccessSurgery
Access Surgery is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick ...
- ACM Digital Library
Full-text archive of ACM publications, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters.
- Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations Dictionary
Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their ...
- Africa Development Indicators
Africa Development Indicators contains over 1,600 indicators and time series from 1961 to the present for 53 countries.
- Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students
Based on the scholarship in the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Africa, aimed at college and graduate students, this work presents Africa, ...
- African American Biographical Database
The Largest Electronic Collection of Biographical Information on African Americans - 1790-1950.
- AIP Scitation (American Institute of Physics)
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in physics and engineering published by the American Institute of Physics.
- All Movie Guide
A database of films, videotapes, and DVDs featuring extensive factual and descriptive data, including ratings and many subject headings ...
- America's News Magazines [NewsBank]
Full text of 3 popular U.S. news magazines: Newsweek (1991- ), Foreign Affairs (1994- ), and Slate (1996- ).
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in chemistry and chemical engineering published or hosted by the American Chemical Society.
- American Film Institute Catalog (Chadwyck-Healey version)
Provides a detailed view of American feature films produced during the last century, compiled by specialist researchers at the AFI.
- American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Free online version at Yahoo! Education, with over 200,000 entries featuring 10,000 new words and senses, 70,000 audio word ...
- American History in Video
American History in Video will contain over 5700 documentary films and newsreels of significant events in US history.
- American Hospital Directory
AHD.com is a directory of data for hospitals in the United States which includes contact information, type of facility and control, ...
- American Indian History Online
This database provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented ...
- American National Biography
Profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all eras and walks of American life who have influenced and shaped American history and ...
- American Periodicals Series (APS)
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, ...
- American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present
Contains biographical and critical essays on 1,328 American women writers covering all genres and all periods of American history. ...
- American Women's History Online
Biographies, historical and topical subject entries, speeches and other documents, maps and charts, photographs, and timelines that ...
- Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
This encyclopedia explores the many peoples of early European civilizations responsible for such accomplishments as the rise of farming ...
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005).
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1988
Searchable access to the backfile of the Los Angeles Times in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- AP Images
Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the ...
- Archive Finder
A database listing over 200,000 manuscript and other special collections at thousands of repositories in the U.S., U.K. and Ireland.
- Archive of Americana
Searches across Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819); ...
- Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
A full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period 400-1200 A.D.
- ArchiveGrid
A guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Contains nearly a million ...
- Art Abstracts
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984
- Art Index Retrospective
Indexes older years of key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, etc.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of literature covering artists, movements, and photography from the late 19th to present.
- ArticlesPlus
Access to over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines.
- Artists' Books of AAEL Special Collections
A growing collection of books in the form of art objects or art objects in the form of books. They require careful handling, so many ...
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Index of 1,100 arts and humanities journals that allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work.
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance ...
- arxiv.org e-prints
Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science and quantitative biology
- Associations Unlimited
Provides information on nonprofit membership associations and professional societies worldwide (20,000 international, 134,000 U.S. ...
- ASTM Digital Library
ASTM Digital Library provides searching and full-text access to ASTM Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Journal of ASTM ...
- ATLA with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of ...
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003).
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians since 1990
An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present.
- BE Press Journals: now DeGruyter Journals
BE Press Journals provides access to journals published by Berkeley Electronic Press including several open access titles.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A consolidated index to more than 12 million biographical articles appearing in English-language Who's Who-type publications, major ...
- Biography Index: Past and Present
Index to biographical articles in English-language periodicals and books, 1946 - present.
- BioMed Central Journals
Provides 100+ open-access biomedical electronic journals. Articles are also immediately available on publication thru PubMed Central. ...
- Birds of North America
Online interactive version (with linked citations, digital images, and full video and sound) of the Birds of North America, the ...
- Black Historical Newspapers
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of six major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World ...
- Book Review Digest Plus
Indexes 2.8 million reviews of over 850,000 fiction and non-fiction books drawn from over 8,000 periodicals, many in full text.
- Book Review Index Online
An index to book reviews that includes more then 5 million review citations from thousands of publications, including refereed ...
- Brill Online Reference Works
Crosssearches Brill's online reference works in Classical Studies, Jewish Studies, and Near Eastern Studies.
- Building Blocks of Matter: A Supplement to the Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics
This supplement to the Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics presents the most recent data on particle physics. Reviews all observed and ...
- CAIRN
Created in 2005 by four publishers and Belgian public partners, along with the Bibliothèque nationale de France, CAIRN offers the most ...
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (now ProQuest)
Cross-searchable access to all former CSA databases now available on the ProQuest platform.
- Cambridge University Press Online Journals
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in all subject areas published by Cambridge University Press.
- Canada's Geographical Names
Search for geographic names in Canada.
- CareerSearch
Provides information on almost 4 million U.S.employers, with almost 10 million key contacts.
- Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes
Searchable collection of historic and contemporary images of landscape design centered on the Italian Villa.
- Census 2000 Long-Form Data [UM Library Terminal Services]
Contains over 800 tables of sample demographic, social,economic,and housing data collected from the 2000 Census. Geographic levels ...
- CensusCD+Maps [UM Library Terminal Services]
Contains complete 1990 US census data down to census block group, projections of demographics and consumer spending, complete map ...
- Center for Geographic Information
Michigan demographic, economic, educational, geographic, and recreation data. Formerly called the Michigan Information Center, CGI now ...
- Century Journals Project
Century Journals Project (CJP) selects the most important academic journals published in China and digitizes all issues since their ...
- China Online Journals
- Cities Around the World
Cities Around the World presents over 6,100 photographic images from the slide collections of the American Geographical Society Library.
- CJH Digital Collections
An online multimedia catalog of materials documenting Jewish culture and history from across the globe. The catalog currently contains ...
- College Blue Book
This 6-volume set is completely revised and updated, and remains the definitive guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. ...
- CollegeSource Online
A comprehensive collection of college catalog and course data, with over 42 million course descriptions and more than 56,000 ...
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
A fully searchable, encyclopedic database of over 165,000 geographical places and features of all kinds. Lists names, descriptions, and ...
- UN Commodity Trade Statistics
International trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country, for over 130 countries. Commodities are classified according ...
- Concise medical dictionary
This best-selling and market-leading dictionary contains over 12,000 clear and concise entries. Written by a team of medical experts, ...
- Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Based on the Oxford Companion to the Theatre, this searchable version contains entries on theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, ...
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
Derived from the classic Oxford Dictionary of Music, this concise edition has over 14,000 entries on musical terms from allegro to zingaro.
- Contemporary Authors
A full-text bio-bibliographical guide to over 100,000 current and recently prominent writers in all media--fiction, poetry, drama, ...
- Contemporary Fashion
Provides biographical and critical coverage of primarily U.S. designers, milliners, footwear designers, fashion companies and textile ...
- Contemporary Novelists
Concise discussions of the lives and principal works of contemporary novelists, written by subject experts.
- Contemporary Poets
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on 789 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets, ...
- COS (Community of Science)
A suite of services academic researchers can use to find funding and collaborators, and promote their work and expertise
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection
- CQ Weekly Report
Analytical articles on Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995.
- Creative Commons
The Creative Commons project is a nonprofit organization offering flexible copyright for creative work. On their website you will find ...
- CultureGrams
CultureGrams is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe
- Dance in Video
Contains nearly 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
- UN Data
You can find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and ...
- Data Citation Index
Searchable descriptions of 1 million+ datasets in all subject areas from 69 repositories, plus citations to publications using the data.
- Database of Latin Dictionaries
Collected, searchable online versions of important Latin dictionaries.
- Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers
Contains the most significant historical statistics of the United States from 1789 to 2003, with projections to 2050.
- Design Center Image Bank
Design Center Image Bank contains over 17,000 images related to urban design issues (focusing on the Twin Cities metropolitan region).
- Dictionary of American History
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries ...
- Dictionary of Irish Biography
The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most ...
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Contains full text essays outlining the lives and careers of American and British authors from all eras and genres and summarizing the ...
- Dictionary of Old English Corpus
Online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text.
- Dictionary of Opera Characters
Contains over 2,500 entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.
- Dictionary of Substances and their Effects (DOSE)
A comprehensive compilation of peer-reviewed health and environmental data on several thousand chemical substances. Includes ...
- Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Digital facsimiles and searchable full-text, in a variety of languages, of the works of 16th & 17th century Protestant Reformers.
- Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
Digital facsimiles and searchable full-text, in a variety of languages, of the works of 16th & 17th century Catholic authors.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Contains themed collections of over 80,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions.
- DigiZeitschriften: das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv
Scores of searchable, full-text German scholarly journals, 19th century to present, covering arts, humanities, sciences & social sciences.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Directory of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and languages. Includes over ...
- Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (Big Ten Universities)
Describes dissertations and some master theses filed at CIC/Big Ten universities, with full text for most since 1997.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Michigan
Describes most dissertations filed at University of Michigan, with full text for most since 1997.
- E-korean studies (한국학 데이터베이스)
Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, ...
- E-STAT
A dynamic interactive tool providing reliable and timely statistics about Canada and its ever-changing people, including Canadian ...
- Early American Fiction 1789-1850
Chadwyck-Healey has partnered with the University of Virginia Library, who in 1996 received a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon ...
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 & Series II: Supplement
Provides full-text access to American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, ...
- Early Detroit Images from the Burton Historical Collection of the Detroit Public Library
The Library of Michigan Digitization for Preservation and Access Grant was awarded to the Detroit Public Library in 2005. The grant ...
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
When complete EEBO will contain page images of 125,000 volumes in all subject areas published in Great Britain or in the English ...
- Early English Prose Fiction (DLPS version)
The Early English Prose Fiction collection contains over 200 works of prose fiction dating from 1500-1700. It includes Elizabethan ...
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A collection of over 28,000 electronic books on all topics, mostly published between 1990 and 2005.
- ebrary
A combined collection of ebooks in ebrary Academic Complete, ebrary Public Library Complete, and ebrary titles not part of a package.
- ebrary Academic Complete
A growing and changing collection of 70,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas.
- EBSCOhost
Access to over 80 databases provided by EBSCO, in the EBSCOhost interface. Includes former WilsonWeb databases and NetLibrary ebooks.
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
A complete searchable archive of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to four years ago, with full-color images, multiple search ...
- eDuke Scholarly Collection
The e-Duke Scholarly Collection includes online access to twenty-nine Duke humanities and social science journals.
- Eighteenth Century Fiction
Eighteenth Century Fiction includes 77 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles.
- EIU Country Indicators
Economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major markets worldwide. Includes historic and forecast data on over 250 ...
- Electronic Collections Online
Indexing and browsable tables of contents for over 2,800 journals in all subject areas, with full text for the 351 of them subscribed ...
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
The standard reference work on Judaism, with more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by ...
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, volumes I - XII.
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
The Encyclopedia is a 5-volume set and a supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present ...
- Encyclopedia of African American Society
This two-volume reference work details the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to ...
- Encyclopedia of Aging
Written by experts for a general audience, articles cover topics such as biology, medicine, economics, law, psychology, sociology, and ...
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with ...
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Encyclopedia of American Immigration traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the ...
- Encyclopedia of American Religions
Contains general essays that historically trace the major religious families and traditions, as well as directory listings that include ...
- Encyclopedia of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Contains 2000+ specially-commissioned, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics. Updated continuously.
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps ...
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and ...
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry
Covers quantum mechanics of atoms, molecules, and condensed phases; thermodynamics, statistical mechanics, electrochemistry, chemical ...
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
This encyclopedia presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines ...
- Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America is a comprehensive, alphabetically-organized reference source on the human rights and civil ...
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
This broad-based set surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and ...
- Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Provides a comprehensive overview of universal modes of communication, the media used to communicate, theories of communication and ...
- Encyclopedia of Community
Whether the reader is a student, researcher, or professional in the field of psychology, sociology, or even economics, this four-volume ...
- Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
An interdisciplinary source that addresses not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. Entries vary widely from ...
- Encyclopedia of Disability
This encyclopedia represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. Originally ...
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
Provides more than 700 articles intended for the student and layperson covering the social, medical and political issues related to ...
- Encyclopedia of Education
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and ...
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. ...
- Encyclopedia of European Social History
This six-volume reference on European social history includes more than 230 articles on everything from serfdom and the economy, to ...
- Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
Articles on all aspects of feminism
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features ...
- Encyclopedia of Homelessness
This encyclopedia is the first systematic effort to organize and summarize what we know about this complex topic that impacts not only ...
- Encyclopedia of India
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more ...
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the ...
- Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Global coverage of language and education, with special emphasis on multicultural and bilingual education. Second edition, published ...
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers ...
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Provides 3000+ peer-reviewed articles, images, a glossary of terms, news, and some multimedia files on a wide variety of life sciences ...
- Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
The Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a ...
- Encyclopedia of Materials
Short articles covering all topics related to materials. Thematic areas covered include materials, applications, properties, and ...
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global ...
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The classic comprehensive English-language reference source for Western philosophy, updated and expanded to cover all philosophy ...
- Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Coverage of all aspects of polymer science, including nanotechnology, imaging and analytical techniques, methods of controlled polymer ...
- Encyclopedia of Population
Provides coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Encompasses the large-scale changes in ...
- Encyclopedia of Public Health
Aimed at the nonspecialist reader interested in health and medicinal issues, the Encyclopedia examines a broad range of topics such as ...
- Encyclopedia of Puerto Rico/ Enciclopedia de Puerto Rico
A multimedia encyclopedia covering all aspects of Puerto Rican history and culture, including the experience and achievements of Puerto ...
- Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (e-EROS)
Covers 3500+ reagents used in organic synthesis. Searchable by reagent names, structures, substructures, reaction conditions, and ...
- Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
A two-volume survey of the pursuit of leisure in the United States, from Colonial to modern times, presented through 271 alphabetically ...
- Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, ...
- Encyclopedia of Russian History
Providing a comprehensive discussion of the people, politics, economics, religion, culture, and social systems of Russia, this work ...
- Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
Addresses the interactions, contradictions, and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The ...
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by ...
- Encyclopedia of Small Business
This convenient and exhaustive 2-vol. print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can ...
- Encyclopedia of Social Work
Covers all aspects of social work. Topics new to the 20th edition include: demographic changes from immigration, technology, the ...
- Encyclopedia of Sociology
This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles ...
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and ...
- Encyclopedia of the American Revolution
A three-volume survey of the military aspects of the American Revolutionary War, covering the period 1763-1783. The alphabetically ...
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
This 2-vol. set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 ...
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, this second editon reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in ...
- Encyclopedia of the New American Nation
Coverage begins just prior to the American Revolution, including the Revolution, the framing of the American Constitution, the ...
- Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States
Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from ...
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global ...
- Encyclopedia of World Biography
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have ...
- Encyclopedia of World Biography, Vol. 24
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have ...
- ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
Online handbooks from CRC Press covering most areas of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, civil, computer, electrical, ...
- Environmental Encyclopedia
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current ...
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles ...
- Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online contains over 1600 ethnographic documentaries and interviews of anthropologists
- Europa World of Learning
"The International Guide to the Academic World": A directory of universities, libraries, learned societies, research institutes, ...
- Europa World Plus
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and all nine volumes of the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, containing ...
- Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
A five-volume survey of European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War. Alphabetically arranged ...
- Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
A multi-volume survey of European history from the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present, presented through alphabetically ...
- Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. Includes 1,150 articles written by ...
- FIAF Directory
Detailed directory listings for all FIAF Affiliates--institutions that are members of the FIAF (Federation Internationale des Archives ...
- FIAF Documentation Collections
Contains comprehensive information about the world's foremost archives, libraries, and educational institutions dedicated to the ...
- FIAF Index to Film Periodicals
Contains descriptions of over 400,000 articles published in more than 345 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. ...
- FIAF Treasures from Film Archives
Contains credits and holdings information for more than 40,500 silent-era films (both features and short films, and both documentaries ...
- Film Index International
filmography that gives fully international coverage of around 118,000 films and 685,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. Its ...
- Film Indexes Online
Combined access to the American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog, Film Index International (FII), and the FIAF International Index to Film ...
- Film Literature Index
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for ...
- Filmakers Library Online
Video streaming of over 1000 documentary films previously distributed by Filmakers Library.
- FirstSearch
Access to 17 databases provided by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) using their FirstSearch interface.
- Foundation Directory Online
Profiles over 70,000 U.S.-based foundations, describing programs, areas of funding, types of support, recent grants made, etc.
- Gale Business Insights: Essentials
Compiled information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products.
- Gale Databases: Michigan e-Library (MeL)
Combined search of 17 databases from Gale provided to all public libraries statewide by the Michigan e-Library (MeL), including ...
- Gale Databases: UM Only
Provides combined search of two databases from Gale licensed by UM-Ann Arbor (but not by the Michigan e-Library), Discovering ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
The encyclopedia identifies 150 types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Includes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures. 2 v.
- Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce
Provides access to the world of Internet commerce and addresses the concerns of those who want to join the ranks of the Internet ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
This encyclopedia fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, ...
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
152 original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S. covering culture, history, settlement patterns, etc.
- Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the ...
- Gale Literary Databases
Simultaneous search of three resources: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography
- General BusinessFile ASAP
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts and full text for over 2,900 business and trade publications. Includes directory listings ...
- General OneFile
Provides indexing for over 8,000 scholarly and general interest journals and newspapers, with full text articles included for over ...
- Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia
The 3rd edition of this comprehensive resource, now published by Gale, provides entries on the physical geography of every country in ...
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
Contains informaton about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States.
- GEONet Names Server
The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (formerly Defense Mapping Agency) database ...
- George Eastman House Photography Collections Online
A steadily growing digital image sampler from the George Eastman House holdings.
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographical Names
This thesaurus contains around 1,000,000 names and other information about places, including all continents and nations of the modern ...
- Going Global Country Career and Employment Resources
Provides world-wide job openings, internship listings, industry profiles and country-specific career information designed to help ...
- Google
Reputedly the largest search engine database providing access to material of all kinds on the Internet.
- Google Book Search
Searches the full text of books, including those in the University of Michigan Libraries that have been scanned by Google. For works in ...
- Google Image Search
Uses the Google search engine to locate digital images (photographs, drawings, charts, etc.) on the Internet.
- Google Patents
With Google Patent Search, you can now search the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you. Patent ...
- Google Scholar (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)
Searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- Grand Robert Dictionary
The complete version of Le Grand Robert de la langue française in its latest edition: 86 000 articles, 100 000 words, 350 000 meanings, ...
- Grove Book of Opera Singers
This volume offers an alphabetically arranged collection of authoritative biographies of opera singers. The profiles offer basic ...
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. ...
- GuideStar
GuideStar offers financial data for over 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States. Data includes revenue tables, ...
- Gutenberg-e
A collection of prizewinning History books, published electronically. Topics include, but are not limited to, Africa, Colonial Latin ...
- HarpWeek
Online version of the 19th-century American magazine Harper's Weekly, with original page images and searchable full-text.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
Searchable access to 9 million+ volumes, with full text access to 2.5 million+ volumes.
- Heritage of the Printed Book Database
Union catalog of European printing in the early modern era (from the 15th century to the 1830s). Describes over 2.7 million printed ...
- HighWire Press Journals
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in the health, life, physical and social sciences published online by ...
- Hispanic American Newspapers
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. ...
- Historical Atlas of the Islamic World
Among the great civilizations of the world, Islam remains an enigma to Western readers. Now, in a beautifully illustrated historical ...
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information ...
- Historical Statistics of U.S.
Includes over 12,500 time series and all descriptive text, an electronic book for easy viewing and searching, and Lotus 1-2-3- files ...
- Human Rights Encyclopedia
The Human Rights Encyclopedia was compiled with special emphasis on the impact of the 1948 United Nations Declaration of Human Rights. ...
- Humanities Abstracts (with Full Text)
Covers 300 periodicals in art, film, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, literature, etc.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index (with Abstracts and Full Text)
Covers 1,500+ periodicals across all humanities and social sciences fields, 1907 - present.
- ICIS Chemical Business Americas
Reporting the business of chemicals, including chemical prices.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social ...
- IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus ...
- Illustrated London News
A full facsimile run of the illustrated newspaper, 1842-2003. Includes over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces.
- Image Services Collections
Collections of digitized images of artworks, cultural and historical artefacts, etc., from museums and other sources maintained by the ...
- Images from Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts
The collection spans some ten centuries of Western illumination, and contains manuscripts from all the major schools, including some of ...
- Information Please Almanac
Web site for the popular compilations of facts and statistics covering politics, current events, geography, history, business, sports, ...
- Informe (Gale)
Provides indexing, images and full text of popular Spanish language and bilingual magazines and journals.
- Institute of Physics (IoP) Electronic Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in physics and engineering published by the Institute of Physics.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Contains more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts in the area of the performing arts.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Detailed profiles with critical and evaluative essays on major or representative films and film personalities of all periods from Asia, ...
- International Directory of Philosophy
Contact information for philosophers, philosophy departments, philosophical societies, publishers, etc.
- International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages
International, peer-reviewed encyclopedia of the middle ages in Europe an its environs.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication
Published in association with the International Communication Association (ICA), the encyclopedia contains over 1300 entries that range ...
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and ...
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Second edition of the 8-volume IESS. Includes 3000 articles, including wealth and income distribution, economic aid, food production, ...
- International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
Provides indexing for 127 currently published scholarly and popular periodicals in Black studies, with links to full text from 40 of ...
- International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text
Indexes over 425 international scholarly and popular music periodicals with full text from 140 titles.
- International Index to the Performing Arts
Indexes articles in 260 scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, TV, drama, and theater.
- Internet Movie Database
The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is an online database of information about movies, movie stars, television shows, television stars ...
- iPoll
Polling data from nearly 400,000 questions asked on national public opinion surveys. Searchable by keyword, polling organization, and ...
- Journal Citation Reports
Provides citation impact factors for 8,400+ scholarly and technical journals worldwide.
- JSTOR
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers the latest developments in chemical technology and related fields. Features include dynamic table of contents and online index; ...
- KISS (한국학술정보)
This database provides full-text access to 2,500 academic journals published by 1,200 academic societies and research centers in Korea.
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Provider of electronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Titles include Lange's Handbook of ...
- KRpia
Currently 70 full-text databases are available. Provides broad coverage of primary resources on Korean Studies. Developed by Nuri Media.
- Landscan
Landscan 2011 provides access to worldwide gridded population data
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign ...
- Life Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now ...
- Lincoln Highway Digital Image Collection
Images of the Lincoln Highway (construction, views, bridges, etc.) from the University Library Special Collections.
- Literature Criticism Online
Provides searchable, online access to volumes from ten different series reproducing excerpts from critical reviews of all kinds and ...
- London Provisioner's Chronicle, 1150-1563
This website features images of the original manuscript (severely damaged in a 1731 fire), a transcript of the original with additional ...
- London Review of Books
Online access to all articles in all issues of the literary magazine with the largest circulation in Europe. Publishes intellectual ...
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Provides a deep historical and cross-cultural perspective on death and dying.
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy
Articles explore everything from Albert Einstein, seismic energy, and acid rain, to lasers and building design. The Encyclopedia ...
- Making of Modern Michigan
The Making of Modern Michigan is a collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials ...
- MarketLine Advantage
This database is comprised of 4 major components: 1) 10,000+ Company Profiles (includes company overviews, business descriptions, ...
- Marquis Who's Who
Online access to profiles on over 1.4 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor.
- Mass Observation Online
Digital archive of Mass Observation, a social research organisation that recorded life in Britain, 1935-1955.
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Provides thorough, up-to-date overviews of a broad range of contemporary scientific and technical topics, including the latest ...
- MD Consult
MD Consult is a comprehensive collection of medical information including MEDLINE, full-text reference books, practice guidelines, drug ...
- Mergent Online
Provides access to current and historical financial information on 15,000 US and 20,000 foreign companies, both active and inactive, ...
- Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
College edition of the American dictionary originated by Noah Webster, containing over 225,000 definitions with pronunciations, ...
- MGet It Citation Linker
Creates a University of Michigan MGet It (formerly SFX) links to services webpage (fulltext, catalog, etc. links) based on citation ...
- Michigan Geographic Data Library (MGDL)
From the Michigan Center for Geographic Information. Incorporates the Spatial Data Library of the Department of Natural Resources and ...
- Milwaukee Neighborhoods: Photos & Maps 1885-1992
A searchable database of 638 digital images of Milwaukee neighborhoods drawn from the photo collections of the American Geographical ...
- Mirlyn Classic
Library Catalog of the University of Michigan (University Library, Bentley Historical Library, Clements Library, Thompson Library)
- MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
A comprehensive reference work covering the methodological and theoretical diversity of the cognitive sciences. Includes 471 concise ...
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
Contains information on the journals and series that are covered in the Modern Language Association International Bibliography database.
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
- MLibrary Digital Collections
Access to over 250 text, image, and finding aid collections that provide access to over a million digital objects.
- Moving Image Archive [Internet Archive]
An archive of high-quality downloadable movie data files free of most use restrictions, many licensed with Creative Commons Licenses. ...
- MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Movie Review Query Engine (acronym: MRQE) is one of the largest indices of movie reviews available online. It includes reviews from ...
- Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Television
Includes more than 1,000 original essays examining specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and ...
- Music Index (EBSCO)
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and other literature, featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present.
- Music Online
A cross-searchable portal of audio and video products from Alexander Street Press.
- MyiLibrary
MyiLibrary is an electronic platform that offers library users access to some of the most topical and current e-books available today. ...
- National Film Registry
The National Film Registry is the registry of films selected by the United States National Film Preservation Board for preservation in ...
- Nature Online
Online access to the journal Nature and its sister publications in Biotechnology, Cell Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, ...
- New Catholic Encyclopedia
A standard in public, academic, and high school libraries worldwide, and prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects ...
- New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume
This supplement focuses on the pontificate of John Paul II and includes thematic essays that present the man and his work. Included as ...
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries exploring the origin, ...
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1500 of the world's leading economists.
- New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990 to present
Modern independently-distributed feature films and short films.
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993).
- New York Review of Books
Online access to all issues of one of the premier literary-intellectual magazines in the English language. Publishes 20 issues per year ...
- New York Times, 1851-2008
Searchable access to the backfile of the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- New Yorker
Online access to all issues of one of the premier literary-intellectual magazines in the English language.
- NewsBank
Access to 11 databases from NewsBank, Inc., including: Access World News [full text newspapers, 1990s-present]; AccessUN [index of ...
- Nineteenth Century Fiction (DLPS version)
Includes the major prose fiction of the Romantic and Victorian periods, as well as many neglected or little-known works, most of them ...
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus)
Online version of W.F. Poole's "Index to Periodical Literature" (1802-1906) supplemented with W. T. Stead's "Index to ...
- Notable Sports Figures
Take a close look at the people in sports who have captured attention because of success on the playing field, or controversy off the ...
- NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 550,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of ...
- OAIster
Uses the Open Archives Initiative (OAI) protocol to gather over 23 million records of free, useful, wide-ranging digital resources ...
- OmniFile Full Text Select
Provides full text of articles from 2,700+ journals and periodicals from across all disciplines and fields.
- OneSource Global Business Browser: US Edition
This database delivers in-depth business information on almost 700,000 companies, including around 600,000 large and mid-sized ...
- Online Index to Hatcher Graduate Library Reference Books
Searchable full text index to 7,500 print reference works shelved in the Hatcher Graduate Library.
- Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains 300 opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
- Orbis
A replacement for the Amadeus database, Orbis has information about 40 million companies, including 18 million European companies from ...
- Oxford Art Online
Online version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, ...
- Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Provides an up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, ...
- Oxford Companion to Music
This new edition of the classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms ...
- Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
A lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems and their interpretation around the world over the last ...
- Oxford Dictionary of Dance
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance offers wide coverage of dancers, choreographers, teachers, composers, technical terms, major works, ...
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
Provides over 12,000 entries and covers musical subjects of all kinds in an authoritative and accessible way.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Concise articles on noteworthy people from the British Commonweath who are no longer living.
- Oxford Duden German Dictionary
A German-English/English-German dictionary with comprehensive coverage of the general vocabulary of contemporary German and English.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. Includes brief biographies of every major ...
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 ...
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, ...
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History
Covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over ...
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and ...
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history. Includes over 650 biographies of influential women and ...
- Oxford Music Online
The authoritative standard for English-language music dictionaries, providing biographies, definitions of terms, works lists, etc.
- Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries
Combined access to 18 concise and pocket sized bilingual dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford University Press Online Journals
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in all subject areas published by Oxford University Press.
- Past Masters [InteLex]
Full-text multi-lingual editions in the fields of philosophy, history of science, literature, politics, and more.
- Past Masters [UM Digital Library]
Includes over 100 texts by major philosophers and political thinkers from ancient Greece to the 19th century--Plato, Aristotle, ...
- Periodicals Index Online
An index to over 14 million articles in more than 4,250 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 1995. ...
- Philosophy Documentation Center Collection
Provides full text searching across current, recent, and back issues of over 100 journals, book series, conference proceedings, and ...
- Photographic Portraits of American Artists
4,700 digital images portraying American artists of the 20th century. The photographs were taken by Peter A. Juley & Son.
- Picture Post Historical Archive
The complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full ...
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfile of Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- PLoS (Public Library of Science)
Provides open-access peer-reviewed scientific and medical journal articles and journals. UM membership in PLoS provides UM authors ...
- PolicyArchive
“PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It makes use of the power, e ...
- Polling the Nations
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and over 60 other ...
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to scholarly journals and e-books published by more than 120 scholarly societies and university presses.
- ProQuest
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Complete full-text backfiles of thirteen U.S. and seven international newspapers.
- ProQuest Research Library
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from international, US and state governments and businesses
- PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES contains more than 110,000 searchable full text articles from 60 scholarly journals published by the American ...
- PsycCRITIQUES
This database covers book and film reviews for published materials related to psychology.
- Psychology of Classroom Learning An Encyclopedia
Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and ...
- Readers Guide Abstracts (with Full Text)
Covers 375 popular periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexes older articles from 240 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, 1890-1982.
- RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (EBSCO)
International annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture, found in music periodicals published from 1800-1950.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in chemistry and chemical engineering published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- Safari Tech Books Online
Online access to 16,000+ technical books from O'Reilly & Associates, The Pearson Technology Group, and other publishers.
- SAGE Journals Online
Access to 400 journals published by SAGE Publications in the areas of communication studies, criminology, education, health sciences, ...
- Sanborn Maps Geo Edition
Geo Edition provides geo-coding and indexing by address for a selection of Sanborn maps.
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of urban areas. Maps of over 12,000 US cities and towns.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national ...
- Scholar Universe
A faculty expertise directory with 2 million searchable profiles covering active full-time university faculty from 31 countries.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online)
Contains access to more than 2,000 journals published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell ...
- SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs
Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held, from all ...
- SCIRUS (Elsevier)
Scirus is a free science-specific search engine from Elsevier covering science-related journal articles, preprints, patents and ...
- Scottish Women Poets
Includes full text of some 60 volumes of poetry from approximately 50 poets from 1789 to 1832.
- Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, Thematic Series: Sports Figures
A two-volume biographical resource for professional sports figures. Presents over 600 entries covering a who's who of American sports, ...
- Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, Thematic Series: The 1960s
A two-volume biographical resource for key individuals of the 1960s. Presents 500 entries describing Americans who defined the decade, ...
- Sex and Sexuality
These three volumes include research, current events and new developments in subjects ranging from hypersexuality, sex for the aged, ...
- Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive (full access)
The Visual History Archive contains 52,000 digitized video interviews with holocaust survivors. Interviewees are primarily Jewish ...
- SIAM Journals Online
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in mathematics and computer science published by SIAM, the Society ...
- Silent Film Online
Classic films from the silent era, in streaming video.
- Silent Film Still Archive
An archive of original photos, advertising, and other memorabilia from silent films, and a few early sound films (especially those ...
- Silent Ladies & Gents
Photo galleries and profiles of silent movie stars, with 15,000 images of 1,400 silent stars.
- SimplyMap
SimplyMap allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974
Documents the 1960s through primary source materials such as diaries, letters, oral histories, and memorabilia.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports ...
- Society of Architectural Historians Image Exchange
SAH Image Exchange is an image database for teaching architectural history. Illustrated monuments span history and geography.
- SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library includes over 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE journals and ...
- SPIE E-Books
Online source for three valuable series of SPIE Press titles in optics and photonics: * SPIE Press Monographs are authoritative ...
- SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network)
Detailed and up-to-the-minute information about more than 11,000 funding opportunities from 2,500+ sponsoring agencies.
- Springer Complete English/International eBook Collection
Provides online full-text access to over 25,000 books in all subject areas from the academic publisher Springer.
- SpringerLink
Provides online full-text access to many of the Springer electronic journals; along with many electronic books and series.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, ...
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A refereed, open access encyclopedia with in-depth articles on a random array of several hundred philosophical topics, most with a ...
- Stat!Ref
Stat!Ref is a full-text resource that searches across more than 25 medical and drug texts. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, ...
- Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Allows searching across more than 1,200 online journals published by Taylor & Francis, with access to full text articles from the ...
- Theatre in Video
Provides streaming video access to original productions of plays, along with film documentaries on the subject of theater.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG): A Digital Library of Greek Literature
A searchable database of all Greek texts from Homer to A.D. 600, and many texts dating to the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of ...
- Thesaurus.com
Online version of Roget's 21st Century Thesaurus (3rd ed.).
- Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center Digital Library
Includes images of approximately 4,000 Tibetan Buddhist texts.
- Time Magazine Archive
Index to articles published in TIME magazine from its first issue published on March 3, 1923 to the present.
- Times Digital Archive
Online backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785 to 2006.
- Times Literary Supplement Subscriber Archive, 1994-
Searchable full text of book reviews, articles, letters and poems. Does not include original page images, page numbers, illustrations, ...
- Transportation Around the World, 1911-1993
A searchable database of over 650 digital images of air, water, and land transportation from the collections of the American ...
- U of M Papyrus Collection
Includes links to the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS), an integrated virtual library of papyri
- Ullmann's Industrial Chemistry
Nearly 1000 articles covering all aspects of the science and technology of industrial chemistry. Features include full search ...
- Union Catalogue of Incunabula
This database appears in conjunction with the print edition of the ‘Union Catalogue of Incunabula’ (Gesamtkatalog der Wiegendrucke) whi ...
- USA Career Guides
Contains career and employment resources for job-seekers covering the 40 largest metropolitan areas in the USA. Included in this ...
- Vanderbilt University Television News Archive
The collection includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, ...
- Vault Career Insider
Career eBooks, job & internship listings, company profiles, etc. Requires personal registration.
- Views of 20th Century Canada: The Canadian Architectural Photography Digitization Project
A searchable Image Bank of four collections all focusing on Canadian architecture.
- Visual Thesaurus
Dictionary/thesaurus providing graphical way to view & explore relationships among words & their meanings.
- Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
The Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies includes details on approximately 112,000 private and public ...
- Web of Knowledge
Provides cross-search of multiple databases: ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (citation indexes), Current Contents ...
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering
Covers the core knowledge from all specialties of electrical and electronics engineering.
- Wiley Online Library
Provides access to online journals and books published by Wiley-Blackwell.
- WilsonWeb
As of February 1, 2012, all WilsonWeb databases are incorporated into the EBSCOhost interface platform.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000
Primary documents, introductory essays, and a definitive bibliography on the involvement of women in social movements.
- Women Writers Online
Contains over 230 texts by pre-Victorian women that can be browsed, searched and analysed. Additionally, Renaissance Women Online ...
- World Almanacs
Combines all the general facts, brief profiles and data included in Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, the World Almanac and Book of ...
- World Book Encyclopedia
Subscription cancelled as of November 1, 2011. Click on title for links to alternative resources.
- World Development Indicators
Provides economic, social and environmental indicators for 210 economies. From the World Bank.
- World Digital Library
Cultural treasures from around the world including rare books, manuscripts, maps, scores, and photos.
- World Education Encyclopedia
Survey of primary and secondary educational systems worldwide.
- World History in Video
Contains over 1000 documentary films and newsreels of significant events in world history.
- World of Earth Science
This new title in Gale's World Of...Series is a comprehensive guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers and issues ...
- World of Sports Science
Theoretical and practical treatment of sports science including sports medicine, exercise physiology, kinesiology, and biomechanics.
- World Press Encyclopedia
Survey of press and electronic media in 200 countries. Includes number and type of media, press laws, censorship, journalism training.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, ...
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A subset of the WorldCat union catalog database containing over 8 million records describing dissertations, theses, and published ...
- WorldImages
WorldImages provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains over 60,000 images, is global in coverage and ...
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an ...
- Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
Full-text electronic archive based on the bibliography compiled by Lyle Wright. Consists of 2,887 novels and other works of fiction by ...
- Yahoo! Search
A large, unique search engine database that includes links to the Yahoo! directory. Indexes first 500 KB of a Web page. Includes some ...
- Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books
Yizkor (memorial) books are an invaluable source of information to researchers as they are often the only resource for vital ...

