Browse

Browse

Browse results for Astronomy and Astrophysics

Databases

Highly Recommended Databases

1-5 of 5
Astrophysics Data System
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 4.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and ArXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through the Abstract Service query forms, and full-text of some of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though the Browse interface. To activate our MGet It (formerly SFX) services, choose "Open URL Settings" from the ADS "Preferences" page: http://adsabs.harvard.edu/cgi-bin/pref_set Select "Library Server" for "University of Michigan" and save. This is a cookie-based system, so settings will be removed when you delete cookies. Coverage is typically (but not always comprehensively) back to 1975, with some coverage of pre-1975 years.
arxiv.org e-prints
Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science and quantitative biology
Encyclopedia of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Contains 2000+ specially-commissioned, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics. Updated continuously.
INSPEC
On ENGINEERING VILLAGE platform, covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceedings papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
AIP Scitation (American Institute of Physics)
Provides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in physics and engineering published by the American Institute of Physics.

Other Databases

1-18 of 18
Aerospace Database
Contains citations, with abstracts, to literature on basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions.
Aerospace Sciences
Access to Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts and NTIS (National Technical Information Services).
AIAA Meeting Papers
Searchable full text database of all nonclassified papers presented at American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics meetings.
ARIBIB
Online version of Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts (AAA) and the earlier Astronomischer Jahresbericht covering the literature from 1880 to the most current volume of AAA. Database is created and hosted by the Astronomisches Rechen-Institut in Heidelbe
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog) [FirstSearch]
Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, foreign relations, public health and social issues.
COS (Community of Science)
A suite of Web-based products and services academics and researchers can use to promote their work, find funding, access experts, consult, and collaborate with colleagues. Includes the COS Expertise and COS Funding Opportunities databases.
COS Funding Opportunities
Searchable database with more than 25,000 records representing over 400,000 funding opportunities for research, worth over $33 billion. One of the COS databases.
Engineering Index (Compendex)
On ENGINEERING VILLAGE platform, Engineering Index (Compendex) provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
GeoRef
Index to journal articles, books and some theses in the earth sciences. Topics include: all aspects of geology, solid-earth geophysics, mineralogy, paleontology, petrology, geochemistry, geochronology, energy, and stratigraphy.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews & dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine & allied historical fields. Integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Institute of Physics (IoP) Electronic Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in physics and engineering published by the Institute of Physics.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Contains citations, with abstracts for most years, to journals and series in meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and related environmental sciences. Updated monthly.
MGet It Citation Linker
Creates a University of Michigan MGet It (formerly SFX) links to services webpage (fulltext, catalog, etc. links) based on citation information (e.g. Journal name, page and volume numbers, etc.).
NTIS Database (National Technical Information Services)
Indexes reports on government sponsored R&D from selected federal agencies (e.g. Department of Energy, EPA), their contractors, and their grantees (e.g. U of M).
Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Key index to articles from major journals in all areas of science and technology. Use to find other articles citing a specific article (footnotes in reverse).
ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online)
Contains access to more than 2,000 journals published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
SPIRES HEP Database
An index to the literature of the particle and high-energy physics community, which has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960's.
Web of Science
Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals.