MLibrary Browse results for Arts in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 8 of 8
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of literature covering artists, movements, and photography from the late 19th to present.
- Art Abstracts
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to articles from architecture and related periodicals, emphasizing the fields of architectural design and history.
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Contains over 100,000 annotated references to articles from over 450 design and craft journals published worldwide; plus data on over ...
- FIAF Index to Film Periodicals
Contains descriptions of over 400,000 articles published in more than 345 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. ...
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Contains more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts in the area of the performing arts.
- International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text
Indexes over 425 international scholarly and popular music periodicals with full text from 140 titles.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Indexes international scholarly literature in all genres of music, as well as music education, theory, therapy, and ethnomusicology.
Other Databases
1 - 147 of 147
- 16+ Source Guides
Guides on various topics in media studies (directors, genres, themes, etc.) listing key writings with brief annotations.
- A-V Online
A database of distribution sources for educational media on videotape, film, audiocassette, and other formats.
- Academic OneFile
Provides indexing for over 8,000 scholarly journals, industry periodicals, general interest magazines and newspapers.
- Access World News [NewsBank]
Full text of 600+ U.S. newspapers and 260+ English-language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
- African American Artists on Disc
A comprehensive annotated bibliography of black artists and art in the US, spanning nearly three centuries.
- Alexander Street Video
Thousands of streaming videos including documentaries, news and historical events, opera, dance and drama performances.
- All Movie Guide
A database of films, videotapes, and DVDs featuring extensive factual and descriptive data, including ratings and many subject headings ...
- American Film Institute Catalog (Chadwyck-Healey version)
Provides a detailed view of American feature films produced during the last century, compiled by specialist researchers at the AFI.
- American Film Scripts Online
Contains full-text of over 1,000 authorized versions of screenplays.
- American Song
Provides streaming access to more than 120,000 audio tracks of American music.
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1988
Searchable access to the backfile of the Los Angeles Times in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- AP Images
Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the ...
- Architectural Graphic Standards
Contains over 10,000 architectural elements, 85% of the drawings and details in CAD format. All CAD drawings can be exported directly ...
- Archive Finder
A database listing over 200,000 manuscript and other special collections at thousands of repositories in the U.S., U.K. and Ireland.
- ArchiveGrid
A guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Contains nearly a million ...
- Art and Architecture in Video
A collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory and practice of art, design and architecture.
- Art Index Retrospective
Indexes older years of key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, etc.
- Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance
Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance is a collection of treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775, and is ...
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Index of 1,100 arts and humanities journals that allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work.
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance ...
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
Over 300 dramatic works in streaming audio.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians since 1990
An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays
Streaming video of all the plays of Shakespeare. Originally broadcast on BBC2 between 1978 and 1985.
- Berg Fashion Library
Cross-searchable access to Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Combined access to two databases providing indexing of articles and books on the history of art.
- Black Drama
Contains full text of 1,200 English plays ca. 1850-present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean.
- Bridgeman Education
300,000 art images from 2,000 sources, 8,000 locations and 30,000 artists
- British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Digital archive of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era.
- CAMIO
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, ...
- Classical Music in Video
A collection of 700 videos of classical music performances and masterclasses.
- Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library offers a multi-label collection of music recordings, featuring performances from independent and major labels.
- Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Based on the Oxford Companion to the Theatre, this searchable version contains entries on theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, ...
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
Derived from the classic Oxford Dictionary of Music, this concise edition has over 14,000 entries on musical terms from allegro to zingaro.
- CUMINCAD
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about ...
- Dance in Video
Contains nearly 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
- Designinform
Designinform consists of three online databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective – a restrospective indexing and abstracting service of ...
- Dictionary of Opera Characters
Contains over 2,500 entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.
- Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art
Provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino
- DRAM
Provides CD-quality streaming access to more than 3,700 albums from 30 independent record labels.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A collection of over 28,000 electronic books on all topics, mostly published between 1990 and 2005.
- Ecology Abstracts
Covers relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
- Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (Chadwyck-Healey version)
Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, volumes I - XII.
- English Drama (Chadwyck-Healey version)
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth.
- Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Summaries and key issues from government-released environmental impact statements, including project descriptions, positive impacts, ...
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
A multidisciplinary database with abstracts and citations drawn from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference ...
- FIAF Directory
Detailed directory listings for all FIAF Affiliates--institutions that are members of the FIAF (Federation Internationale des Archives ...
- FIAF Documentation Collections
Contains comprehensive information about the world's foremost archives, libraries, and educational institutions dedicated to the ...
- FIAF FilmArchive Database
Combined access to four different online research tools created by the FIAF: 1) Index to Film Periodicals, covering more than 400,000 ...
- FIAF Members' Publications
This database allows you to find detailed information on books, pamphlets, programs, and other materials published since 1966 by more ...
- FIAF Treasures from Film Archives
Contains credits and holdings information for more than 40,500 silent-era films (both features and short films, and both documentaries ...
- Film Index International
filmography that gives fully international coverage of around 118,000 films and 685,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. Its ...
- Film Indexes Online
Combined access to the American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog, Film Index International (FII), and the FIAF International Index to Film ...
- Film Literature Index
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for ...
- Gale Literary Databases
Simultaneous search of three resources: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- General Reference Center Gold
Provides indexing for 1,100 general interest magazines, newspapers, business and industry journals, and reference books, with full text ...
- GeoRef
Index to journal articles, books and some theses in the earth sciences. Topics include: all aspects of geology, solid-earth geophysics, ...
- Google Image Search
Uses the Google search engine to locate digital images (photographs, drawings, charts, etc.) on the Internet.
- Google Scholar (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)
Searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- Greenwire
Reports on national environmental, energy and natural resources issues as they are addressed by the White House, federal agencies, ...
- Grove Book of Opera Singers
This volume offers an alphabetically arranged collection of authoritative biographies of opera singers. The profiles offer basic ...
- Grove Book of Operas
The Grove Book of Operas is a collection of synopses and descriptions of over 250 operas.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
Searchable access to 9 million+ volumes, with full text access to 2.5 million+ volumes.
- UM History of Art Visual Resources Collections
Includes over 70,000 digitized images selected from the UM History of Art's collection of over 750,000 slides & photographs.
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 1 ( -1907)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 10 (1980-1989)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 2 (1907-1915)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 3 (1915-1928)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 4 (1926-1931)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 5 (1930-1939)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 6 (1940-1949)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 8 (1960-1969)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- History of the American Cinema, Volume 9 (1970-1979)
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the ...
- Humanities Abstracts (with Full Text)
Covers 300 periodicals in art, film, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, literature, etc.
- Image Services Collections
Collections of digitized images of artworks, cultural and historical artefacts, etc., from museums and other sources maintained by the ...
- Index of Christian Art
Provides subject and iconographic access to over 200,000 photographic reproductions of Christian art in the east and west from early ...
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Detailed profiles with critical and evaluative essays on major or representative films and film personalities of all periods from Asia, ...
- International Index to the Performing Arts
Indexes articles in 260 scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, TV, drama, and theater.
- International Movie Industry
Brief histories of the national cinemas of 19 different countries worldwide written by experts.
- Internet Movie Database
The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is an online database of information about movies, movie stars, television shows, television stars ...
- IPA Source
Contains over 6,600 International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Includes index to citations from more than 1,600 scholarly journals in all areas of Medieval and Renaissance studies (400-1700). Also ...
- Jazz Music Library
Streaming audio of over 130,000 recordings of every jazz genre and time period, featuring jazz artists from around the world.
- JSTOR
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign ...
- The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - ...
- Local Color: Art on Campus
A collection of art on display on the campus of the University of Michigan.
- MAD CAD: Building Codes Online
Comprehensive, cross-referenced collection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ...
- Material ConneXion Database
Material ConneXion offers a knowledge base with an eclectic collection of over 1,400 innovative materials and processes. The database ...
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
- MLibrary Digital Collections
Access to over 250 text, image, and finding aid collections that provide access to over a million digital objects.
- Monterey Jazz Festival Collection
A database documenting nearly 9,000 jazz pieces, interviews, and other events representing over 1,000 hours of audio and video ...
- Moving Image Archive [Internet Archive]
An archive of high-quality downloadable movie data files free of most use restrictions, many licensed with Creative Commons Licenses. ...
- MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Movie Review Query Engine (acronym: MRQE) is one of the largest indices of movie reviews available online. It includes reviews from ...
- Municipal Codes
This site allows one to access over 1,000 local municipal codes from almost all states. Seach by state and locale.
- Music Index (EBSCO)
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and other literature, featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present.
- Music Online
A cross-searchable portal of audio and video products from Alexander Street Press.
- MusicalAmerica.com
Provides performing arts news and databases of contact information.
- National Film Registry
The National Film Registry is the registry of films selected by the United States National Film Preservation Board for preservation in ...
- Nature Online
Online access to the journal Nature and its sister publications in Biotechnology, Cell Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, ...
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library offers streaming audio of more than a million tracks of classical music covering all time periods.
- New York Times, 1851-2008
Searchable access to the backfile of the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- Nihon rekishi chimei taikei
Online version of Nihon rekishi chimei taikei, published by Heibonsha.
- North American Theatre Online
A major initiative to provide detailed reference information for theatrical figures, plays, theatres, and more.
- OAIster
Uses the Open Archives Initiative (OAI) protocol to gather over 23 million records of free, useful, wide-ranging digital resources ...
- OmniFile Full Text Select
Provides full text of articles from 2,700+ journals and periodicals from across all disciplines and fields.
- Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains 300 opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
- Orchestral Music Online
Orchestral Music Online is an online version of David Daniels's classic reference work providing basic information on thousands of works.
- Oxford Art Online
Online version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, ...
- Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Provides an up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, ...
- Oxford Companion to Music
This new edition of the classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms ...
- Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
A lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems and their interpretation around the world over the last ...
- Oxford Dictionary of Dance
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance offers wide coverage of dancers, choreographers, teachers, composers, technical terms, major works, ...
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
Provides over 12,000 entries and covers musical subjects of all kinds in an authoritative and accessible way.
- Oxford Music Online
The authoritative standard for English-language music dictionaries, providing biographies, definitions of terms, works lists, etc.
- Periodicals Index Online
An index to over 14 million articles in more than 4,250 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 1995. ...
- Play Index
Covers more than 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present, written in or translated into English.
- Pollution Abstracts
Pollution Abstracts provides access to environmental information concerning scientific research and government policies on atmosphere, ...
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to scholarly journals and e-books published by more than 120 scholarly societies and university presses.
- ProQuest
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Complete full-text backfiles of thirteen U.S. and seven international newspapers.
- ProQuest Research Library
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600.
- Readers Guide Abstracts (with Full Text)
Covers 375 popular periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexes older articles from 240 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, 1890-1982.
- RELICS: Renaissance Liturgical Imprints Census
A database of citations to over 13,000 liturgical titles printed in Europe between 1450 and 1600.
- RIBA Library
Citations to over 2000 periodicals and 135,000 books held by the Royal Institute of British Architects Library. In addition to ...
- RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (EBSCO)
International annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture, found in music periodicals published from 1800-1950.
- RISM International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600
The most comprehensive annotated index to music manuscripts produced after 1600 with 600,000+ records.
- RSMeans CostWorks
Institutional login & password required.Online access to the complete RSMeans Library including over 85,000 unit prices, 25,000 ...
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of urban areas. Maps of over 12,000 US cities and towns.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national ...
- SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs
Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held, from all ...
- Silent Film Online
Classic films from the silent era, in streaming video.
- Silent Film Still Archive
An archive of original photos, advertising, and other memorabilia from silent films, and a few early sound films (especially those ...
- SimplyMap
SimplyMap allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Streaming audio of more than 40,000 tracks of ethnic music from around the world, including the catalog of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
- Theatre in Video
Provides streaming video access to original productions of plays, along with film documentaries on the subject of theater.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2006
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement, 1902-2005.Offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important ...
- ToxLine
Covers journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, and other literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals ...
- TOXNET
Toxicology data, citations and abstracts for the toxicology literature, Toxic Release Information (annual estimated releases of toxic ...
- Universal Database of Russian Newspapers
Provides full text of over 40 of the major newspapers or serials published in Russia, the Soviet Union, or its successor states.
- Victorian Popular Culture: Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
Books, journals and ephermera documenting the pre- and early-cinematic years
- Water Resources Abstracts
Provides comprehensive coverage of water resources issues, including groundwater, lakes, estuaries, water supply, desalination, water ...
- Web of Knowledge
Provides cross-search of multiple databases: ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (citation indexes), Current Contents ...
- WorldCat
Over 62 million records describing books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic ...

