Southeast Asia Division

The Southeast Asia Division manages the acquisitions and cataloging of vernacular materials of the region in all formats. Reference questions pertaining to the region are also the responsibility of the Division. Three countries, the Philippines, Thailand, and Indonesia, have received the most comprehensive attention. Substantial holdings also exist for other nations of the region. Furthermore, the division holds the responsibility for collecting materials in the languages of the regions former colonial powers and for collecting English language materials found throughout Asia. Finally, the Division collects English and Aboriginal language materials from Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania.

The staff of the Southeast Asia Division consists of native speakers of the five most studied countries of the region. With its varied fields of subject specialization, the Divisions staff is capable of assisting faculty, students, staff, and the general public with research consultations pertaining to Southeast Asia and its neighboring countries.

COLLECTION SIZE: 223,000 vernacular and Western languages; (excludes Pacific/Oceania collection).

GEOGRAPHICAL COVERAGE: Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.

COGNATE COVERAGE: East Asia, Australia, New Zealand, Oceania.

LINGUISTIC COVERAGE: Burmese, Khmer, Lao, Bhasa Indonesia, Malay, Tagalog, Thai, Vietnamese, and all dialects within the region; English for Australia and New Zealand; indigenous Oceanic languages.

Page maintained by Fe Susan T. Go
Last modified: 03/26/2010